We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain Surprise in Cincinnati, OH” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garfield Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Garfield Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Garfield Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Garfield Place, Downtown, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Rineyville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bargain Surprise in Cincinnati, OH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband, daughter, son-in-law and I recently stayed at the Garfield Suites Hotel for 3 nights and I can say that we were very surprised and happy with our stay. Ron checked us in upon arrival and was very helpful and friendly. We arrived early and he politely asked if we would like an upgrade to a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite due to the fact that our room was not ready. This was at no additional cost to us. The room was a bit dated or retro with a blast from the past furnishings, carpet, and appliances. The suite was very large and was clean with no odors which was nice. One of the bedspreads seemed to have been a little dirty with visible spots, but was promptly and quickly replaced upon request. There is a complimentary shuttle which is available on a first come first served basis for the downtown area only. Once our car was parked, we only had to take it out of the garage one time throughout the entire stay. Ashleigh and Randy were very helpful and dropped us off and picked us up promptly upon request. Randy made us feel as if he was our own personal tour guide which was very refreshing and helpful in navigating our way around. The Garfield is in a great location and within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, local attractions, museums, etc. The restaurant Cafe Martin on the 1st floor is very good and the staff was very courteous and professional. Two other staff members who were very professional and polite; Darren & Ayana added to our stay and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. We will not hesitate to stay and the Garfield Suites Hotel again should we travel to Cincinnati in the future. The only reason that we didn't give 5 stars is due to the fact that there is indeed a need for some upgrades to the rooms in the near future which are showing signs of aging. Thank you Garfield Suites staff! We appreciate you and totally enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: You have a choice of a balcony which is nice. Ask for ice at the desk instead of using the ice tray...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    198
    112
    74
    65
See reviews for
167
179
52
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
clarksville, tn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great hotel. Great staff. Rooms are very large with a full kitchen. They could probably use some new updated elevators they were kind of slow. But that is really the only complaint I can think of. The balconies had a great view of downtown also. Would definitely stay there again if I go back to Cincinnati.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Garfield suites hotel was a very nice place to spend one night in the city. We had a 2Bd suite, which split the cost between two couples. Perfect. Unit had a full kitchen also. Beds were comfy and suite furniture adequate, but not fancy. What made our stay particularly pleasant was the wonderful staff. They went out of their way to accommodate our parking issue with a truck and trailer, as well as gave us a ride to the casino when the shuttle did not show up. Great people.
In house cafe was superb both for dinner and breakfast. Cafe Martin.

Room Tip: The view from the 15th floor was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife, a friend, and I stayed at the Garfield for a night after a wedding. I will openly admit that it was a great place to stay when the privacy of two bedrooms is needed, and you'd like to split the cost with someone else. The floor plan of our two bedroom suite was relatively open. It had a spacious living/dining area, a functional kitchen complete with utensils and cookware, two small bedrooms that served their purpose, and a full bath. That was all wonderful.
On the other hand, EVERYTHING from the wallpaper and the carpet to the appliances and the furniture was very dated. 1990s decor doesn't seem that old at first, until you realize that it's approximately 20 years old. So, when I mention that the whole suite seemed a little worn and dusty, you'll understand.
One very strange thing to me - perhaps this is my anal art school background - was how low the "artwork" was hung. Artwork should be hung at approximate eye level. That being said, there was a reproduction hung above the desk at what would be eye level if one was sitting down. Weird. I can almost forgive that one. However, the reproduction behind the couch was also hung to be viewed while seated. But who sits backward on a couch? I dare you to not find it strange. But I digress.
The front desk staff was friendly enough, but it should be noted that our room wasn't ready by check in. We waited in the lobby (which was sharp and contemporary at first glance, but dirty after inspection...furniture in particular) while guest after guest received their room keys.
Another oddity was the maze from the parking garage to the hotel lobby. I felt like some treasure hunter navigating some Cincinnati catacomb. Bring a compass because your GPS may not work down there.
Overall, the Garfield served it's purpose comfortably enough for the price and the location (two blocks from fountain square). Although I'd still like to see some updates, I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I had my Wedding next door at the Cincinnati Club and I got bitten all over my body by bed bugs. My wedding was ruined. The place is a dump. We waited 2 hours for our room to open up when we arrived and check in time was at 3 pm. I was late to my rehearsal dinner. Our room smelled like cigarettes. I will never go back. Run for your life...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were very impressed by the size of the room and the location. I found Cincinnati to be a great city for getting around by walking. We happened to be there while Oktoberfest was on and also a Bengals v Packers game, so the place was definitely in party mode. The (in house) restaurant was excellent, and the staff extremely friendly and helpful...especially the manager who gave us excellent advise about the public transport...which we used to visit the zoo, what a great experience.... thank you.

Room Tip: I cant complain about any aspect of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Washington, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3rd anniversary and also to see the Reds/Pirates game. The hotel was in a awesome location to walk to about everything.

When we arrived we were greated by a sort of friendly desk staff and clean lobby. After finally finding a parking space in a connecting pay garage we went up to our 1 bedroom suite on the 15th floor. We walked in and the room didnt seem to bad. It was fairly clean, but had a rundown appearance. There were water stains on the ceiling that might indicated it was leaking, the walls was in need of painting and the furniture was scratched up and in need of replacing. The tub in the bathroom was stained up by something unknown. The kitchen was nice and had full size applainces with included pots and pans, plates and glasses. The view wasnt too bad from the 15th floor if you could have seen through the clouded up windows. In the living room I was afraid to move the curtains since the rod was coming away from the wall. A accident ready to happen.

After settling in we decided to try the free WIFI internet and get directions to the resturant we wanted to eat at. After putting in the password we were unable to connect. We called down to the desk to make sure the password was correct and then tried again. After several attempts we contacted the desk once again and the guy at the desk gave us a number to call the provider to have it fixed. I think that was a unacceptable answer. I was not going to sit on the phone trying to get their product fixed. Oh well we didnt want to use the internet after all.

The mattress in the room was very uncomfortable and evry once in awhile when lying on it you could feel the springs.

Overall the hotel wasnt too bad, but wasnt worth the money paid. I could have stayed somewhere else for the same price and would have been more comfortable. The staff was for the most part very friendly especially the night crew. I guess the best partof staying at this hotel was the location and most everything within walking distance.

I am not too sure if I would reccommend this hotel to my family or friends untill the due some remodeling.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Address: 2 Garfield Place, Downtown, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati’s best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Rated the #1 Cincinnati hotel by TripAdvisor, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garfield Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.