We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garfield Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Garfield Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garfield Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Garfield Place, Downtown, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 49 hotels in Cincinnati
Dublin, Ohio, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Highly recommend !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Ok so the hotel is a bit dated and could use a make over. But it's clean...super clean and the staff is fantastic plus the location can't be beat.
we walked to the bank, fountain square and the casino...perfect location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    186
    98
    62
    58
See reviews for
159
165
52
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a recent wedding. The room was clean with no musty smells as documented by previous guests. We did not utilize the full kitchen facilities since we were occupied with other wedding guests and ate all of our meals in restaurants. We did eat breakfast in the hotel restaurant. I would not order the pancakes again, but the breakfast burrito was enjoyed by two of our relatives as well as the eggs and toast combo. They were attentive to the children in our group.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent one night in a 2 bedroom "suite" at the Garfield Suites in dowtown Cincinnati. I have always wondered what this hotel was like as we stay downtown often as Reds season ticket holders. We wont be returning to the Garfield Suites.

The one positive was the staff. Check-in was quick and everyone was friendly and helpful. Nothing bad to say about the staff at all.

Everything else was well below average. The "suite" itself reminded me of an old public housing apartment. I'm convinced that is what this building used to be. The smell was awful and the furnishings were very dated. The elevators were barely functional. The parking garage, while inexpensive, was connected to the hotel by a hallway that felt like a cave. Never would I allow my wife to walk that hallway alone. The Hotel itself is on the fringe of downtown and is with a couple of blocks of some seedy neighborhoods.

Most of the downtown Cincinnati hotels are not up to the standards that you would find elsewhere, but the Garfield Suites is the worst. I'd compare it to the Travelodge in Newport. I hoped this hotel would be a good alternative to the Millenium. Safe to say, that it is not. The Millunium is not great, but it is a much better option that the Grafiled Suites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We booked with Garfield Suites because the price and location were right. We had a business meeting near by and wanted to keep our expenses down. We weren't looking for luxury, just a comfortable place to sleep and relax when we weren't in meetings. When we arrived at our suite, I was pleasantly surprised to walk into an apartment--full kitchen, large living/dining area, two bedrooms and a bath. The place was clean, though the furniture and decor was a bit dated. It would have been a great place for a family or a group of friends--room to spread out and a kitchen you could actually cook in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were spending six nights in Cincinnati mainly to attend a Red's game but also just to experience the city. Initially we booked a hotel over on the Kentucky side of the river for three nights and hoped we would find something in downtown for the next three nights. While walking around town we stopped into Arnold's (oldest bar in Cincinnati ) and the very personable owner mentioned Garfield Suites as being inexpensive and nice. We booked the next two nights. . . . They were not able to accommodate us Friday night. We enjoyed our stay. . . Walking distance to many things. We walked from hotel all the way over to Covington, Ky. We had a bedroom, living room, kitchenette, bath. Very reasonable and parking only $10 a day. Nothing fancy but completely adequate. No complaints about anything. Front desk very helpful. First night we were there they had a manager's reception in the bar in the lobby. . . . Free wine, beer, appetizers and jazz musician. Very relaxing way to start off our stay. Will definitely stay there again if we return to Cincinnati .

Room Tip: They asked us if we wanted a balcony. We did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Heights, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Love the suite. Lots of room was able to share with our friends and still have our privacy.. Restaurant was great. Got to use the kitchen a home away from home. Cleaning in bathroom could have been better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I celebrate our anniversary every year by attending the Macy's Music Festival. The hotel is very outdated, but so is my grandma's house...it's like staying with Grandma! :-) I don't notice an odor, but we take candles to every hotel we stay at anyways. So that's a simple fix. Other than that, the rooms are large, I love the full kitchen and the balcony. The price is VERY reasonable, the staff is friendly. For the first time, we ate in the restaurant for breakfast and the food was good. We typically take the complimentary shuttle to the stadium, but we've gotten cab rides for about $7 and we typically walk back. It's a great location and a great time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Address: 2 Garfield Place, Downtown, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati’s best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Rated the #1 Cincinnati hotel by TripAdvisor, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garfield Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.