We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious like an apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garfield Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Garfield Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Garfield Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Garfield Place, Downtown, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 48 hotels in Cincinnati
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spacious like an apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed this past fourth of July. We were pleasantly surprised by the large spaces and a full kitchen. It is nice for a family vacation. We enjoyed the shuttle service to just about anywhere around town. Customer service was great.

Rooms need updating, especially the bathrooms, but clean. Pillows were comfortable and slept like a baby. I recommend. Price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    170
    90
    58
    56
See reviews for
150
151
50
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pa.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My Two Sons And I Stayed Here While We Visited The City For A Reds Game. Great Value For A Family. Not ThE Greatest Neighborhood, But Within Walking Distance Of The Stadiums. Down Side Was No Pool Or Gym. Reduced rate At Y Down The Road, But Y WAs Not User Friendly For A Number Of Reasons.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom suite overlooking the city. The staff and manager were extermely friendly. The rooms were clean. No complaints. Will definitely stay again when we come back to the city. Thanks for a great stay! -Paula Gibson

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed her for a wedding that took place in Cincinnati over Memorial Day weekend. Since it was a holiday weekend and a Reds home game the room price was higher than average and definitely not worth it. When you walk in the lobby is modern and decorative, but then when you walk into your room its like you took a trip back to the 80s (their elevator must be a time machine lol) Tube tvs, wood paneling, mauve and mint colored curtains and dated furnishings. We were upgraded to the 2 bedroom suite so it had a full kitchen, not that I needed it, since I was only there for 1 night. The walls are paper thin, I could hear everything going on nextdoor and across the hall (a 7 year olds birthday party). The bathroom was basic, the beds were ok and at least the room was clean. I had room service delivered the next day..the french toast was bland. Theres a restaurant in the lobby, but I didnt go down there. Also, apparently this hotel is on the edge of friendly downtown and grimey downtown Cincinnati called Over the Rhine. I was warned by the front desk staff that if I left the hotel to walk around of go to the bars to go left, but never venture to the right. That was comforting....lol.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night after the New Kids on the Block concert. We booked a two-bedroom suite - to give you an idea of the value of this hotel, the rate we paid for a two-bedroom suite was HALF what the Westin wanted for a 2-queen hotel room, and the hotel is only two blocks away from Fountain Square. That being said, when you're getting this kind of deal, you should know what to expect. If I was staying at the Westin, I would expect to be greeted by a bellboy who helped with my bags, and a valet for my car. I did not expect this at the Garfield, so I was not disappointed when I had to carry my own bags in. Nor was I disappointed I had to park my own car - parking, by the way, was only $6 overnight in their garage. NOWHERE in Downtown Cincinnati can you park that cheap.

Yes, this hotel is dated. The rooms need renovated. It looks like they may be doing a little at a time - we walked in to newer laminate in the foyer and kitchen area, and newish counters in the kitchen and bathroom. But I'd compare the furnishings, carpet, bed, etc. to that of a Comfort Suites. But again...I go back to the rate we paid. Can't beat it.

They have a cute little restaurant with a bar that's open until midnight. We walked back from US Bank Arena after the concert (only a mile down the road) and had a few drinks in the bar. The bartender was very nice, and knew how to handle some of the obnoxious concert goers we saw coming into the bar (the patrons who probably should've been staying at the Westin, since NOTHING could satisfy them). We went back down to the same restaurant in the morning and had a nice breakfast.

Would I stay in this hotel again? In a heartbeat. It's all in what you want in a hotel. If you're looking for full service, this isn't the place. But the accommodations were clean, NO BED BUGS, and the rate was fantastic - leaving us with more money to go out and have fun.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $5 for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst over from the UK visiting family. Whilst the hotel is a little dated, the value for money is outstanding.

We booked a one bedroom suite but were upgraded to a high-floor 2 bedroom suite at no extra cost, without requesting it. In fact, the hotel were happy to accommodate our early arrival (2 hours before check-in time) with no problems. The chap who checked us in was friendly and efficient and we were even offered help with our bags.

The suite was absolutely massive - dated, yes, but with every amenity we could want and then some, not to mention free wifi and great views!

I'd definitely stay there again, the location is perfect and you cannot beat the value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

From the moment one pulls up one can tell they don’t care. The hotel van blocks the place to unload and one fends for themselves getting a cart and taking care of the baggage. The “bad rug” front desk check in host has an attitude to match. He made a comment: “… enjoy the party” and one wondered what that meant.

Don’t stay on the “Penthouse” floor (there’s 6/7 next door to each other); it’s the “21” birthday party floor. I believe the University students have made it that kind of party destination. So, they left it dingy and old and not polished at all. Check the sheets that if they were changed and look in every dirty corner. Drains are clogged, toilets and a door security chain that is broken. You won’t sleep until after 4am and only until sunrise because, of the old wore out vertical window blinds. (It explains the millions of stains on the furniture, carpeting and walls.)

It’s a shame that this prime location is wasted on an inferior hotel service. The Garfield should take a lesson from the fabulous restaurant it has and it’s great cooks because, they obviously care, thank you, that was a very good breakfast.

I would stay there again because, the regular rooms other family members had, were very nice and clean and very reasonably priced for being right in the heart of downtown life.

Room Tip: Don't choose early check in, they don't have time to clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio
Address: 2 Garfield Place, Downtown, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati’s best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Rated the #1 Cincinnati hotel by TripAdvisor, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garfield Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.