We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEDBUG BITEN TRAVELERS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Garfield Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Garfield Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Garfield Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Garfield Place, Downtown, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BEDBUG BITEN TRAVELERS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed this past weekend (April 20-21st, 2013) at the Garfield Suites Hotel. Beyond the outdated decoration and appliances, we ran into another problem that is a traveler's worst nightmare. After arriving from our concert, we both decided to shower and go to bed to catch some shut eye before a day packed with exploring the city of Cincinnati. When we woke up, we noticed her whole right side had small bumps along her arm and forehead. We didn't think anything about it until she complained later on in the day that they started to itch. When she scratched them, they got BIGGER. She then decided to go straight to the doctor and was diagnosed with bed bug bites.

I decided to contact the hotel, as this is CLEARLY not acceptable. When I called guest services, I was told to call the sales manager, and then was hung up on. The next day, Monday April 22, 2013, The sales manager left a voicemail stating that she had professionals check our room, and there was no sign of bed bugs. I then called the general manager. He has yet to talk to me personally.

We stayed in room 803.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarfieldSuites, Director of Sales at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are sorry to hear of your girlfriend's condition and wish you both the very best. Gary Wachs, General Manager, has been in contact with you via telephone regarding the matter. First and foremost, according to two independent professional companies, there were no bed bugs in your suite. Two independent companies were contracted to perform professional inspections of this suite and reported no evidence of either bed bug eggs or bed bugs alive or dead in your suite. A copy of this report has been mailed to you.

For interested readers on this website, we wish to offer an update on the status of this incident, the specific details in relation to this incident, and a general overview of our hotel's approach to pest control and more specifically to Garfield Suites Hotel's aggressive approach to bed bugs prevention and abatement.

Upon receiving the initial report on this matter, our exectutive housekeeper and 2 housekeeping supervisors performed a preliminary inspection and found no evidence of bed bugs.
Perfection Pest Control, Inc., was called in and also performed an inspection utilizing high intensity lights and found no evidence of bed bug eggs or bed bugs alive or dead. After this inspection, Garfield Suites Hotel contracted K-9 bed bug detection services. K-9 Bed Bug Detection uses professionally trained canine teams to detect the scent of live bed bugs and viable eggs. Bed bug detecting dogs work much like bomb and narcotic scent detection dogs and are extremely accurate in identifying bed bug infestations. Not only are canine inspections far more accurate, they are much faster than human inspections. This is an expensive service that we are happy to perform for our own and our guests' peace of mind. Canines can detect bed bugs in cracks, crevices, behind walls, and many other areas that humans simply cannot search. The dogs did not alert to any presence past or present of bed bugs in your suite.

As you are probably already aware, bedbugs have impacted hotels across the United States. The Garfield Suites Hotel is, according to the Hamilton County Health Department, taking the most proactive approach we've ever seen from any hotel. It is important to mention to the layperson, that the presence of bedbugs is no indication of poor housekeeping. Unlike ants or roaches, bedbugs are not attracted to food, dirt or garbage. Like mosquitos, bedbugs are only attracted to people and warm-blooded animals. They are transported by people on clothing and luggage. Bed bugs are found in movie theaters, hospitals, libraries, airplanes and almost anywhere. There is no hotel in the US that is immune from the threat of a bedbug entering a guestroom on a traveler's luggage, but, with proper education, training of staff, a proactive approach utilizing pest control professionals, and a proper appropriation of money budgeted to prevention of infestation, the problem can be greatly minimalized.

In light of a damaging review of this sort our hotel's reputation is put into question. It is also my job and my obligation to our guests and also to our employees to clearly communicate our program that is currently in place here at the Garfield. I am very proud to confidently report that the Garfield Suites Hotel is outperforming and outspending the competition on this issue. I am glad to say that we are taking every known effort and spending a great deal of money (an estimated $70,000.00 in prevention, abatement and treatment this year ) to combat this issue as follows:

1. Intensive Training - our first line of defense is our hourly room attendants. Training the daily housekeeper on identifying the warning signs of a potential problem and then reporting the evidence to supervisors is critical.
2. Daily Proactive Inspections - In addition to our hourly room attendants inspections, our managerial staff performs daily visual inspections with flashlights of mattresses, box-springs, bedding and headboards. They also remove artwork from the walls and check for any residual evidence of bedbugs.
3. Weekly Professional Inspections - The Garfield Suites subcontracts to Perfection Pest Control to perform intensive weekly inspections of rooms utilizing high-powered light by a trained professional.
4. Bedbug-Sniffing Dog - the Garfield employs (at a very high expense) the services of bedbug sniffing dogs. K-9 detection services is contracted and performs inspections in our hotel every Monday.
5. Mattress and Box Spring encasements - The Garfield has purchased mattress and box spring encasements - these are zippered encasements that prevent bedbugs from nesting in the beds.... we have installed these encasements on every bed in the hotel. Many hotels do not offer these but the Garfield Suites Hotel does for the safety of our guests.

This is not fun subject matter, but any questions regarding our hotel's policies and procedures regarding this issue are welcome at any time. The Garfield Suites Hotel is doing everything known to combat this pest. It is our livelihood and our mission to provide excellent accommodations and friendly hospitality to our guests.

Sincerely,
Mick Douthat
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    198
    113
    74
    65
See reviews for
167
179
52
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Your perspective will influence how you feel about this place. For me, I felt like I was visiting grandma asking her if she was going to remodel anytime soon. Grandma says but I just remodeled and I have to remind her that the she remodeled in 1980. To grandma, it feels like yesterday. To me, it felt like 1980. The place was worn around the edges. Almost everything had wear on it from the furniture to the wallpaper to the paint and carpet. Now, if you don't mind this and you want a huge suite for comparatively little money, then maybe this place is for you. Can't argue with the room size. Two bedroom suite with balcony, full kitchen and living room for $129.00 is a decent value on the highway and a phenomenal value in a downtown environment. This is located is within walking distance of most tourist sites in downtown including the casino, fountain square, and the stadiums. Stadiums are a bit of a hike but walkable. There is a restaurant on property. We did not eat there so I don't know if it is good. They have a bar also. There is vending in the lower level. Vending prices are good for a hotel. $1.25 for a soda and $1.00 for bottled water. About half or less of bigger hotels. If you don't mind not having a fresh room appearance, then maybe this is the place for you. Would I stay here again? Really depends on the price. If significantly cheaper than another hotel then yes. If within $40 or $50 of a nicer place then probably not. Not a terrible experience at all. Staff was good and friendly, location is great, parking is close, price was good. Downside was how I felt while in the room. It just felt dirty and rundown. It really needs a facelift.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

For our sixth wedding anniversary, my wife and I caught a reds game and stayed at the Garfield suites. We upgraded to the penthouse and boy was that a mistake! The 1970's called and they want their room back! Wallpaper, yes wallpaper was peeling off of the walls in every room that it was in. It was very pleasant outside nearly 60 and sunny all weekend and imagine the beautiful scenery the penthouse has to offer with no furniture at all. When I called the front desk and asked "Ron", he called me back and asked if we could take the kitchen table and chairs outside...what a joke! Do not waste your time or money on this place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Another night at the Garfield Inn and Suites. Enjoyed our stay as usual. Staff still as friendly as ever. We went to Cincinnati at the last minute. All hotels were booked. The Garfield called us back with a cancellation. Spent the night. Got a shuttle for the game. A reds victory, and a Brandon Phillips bobble head.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure what the word for discriminating against a hotel based solely in looks is- maybe 'hotelist'? The thing is, statistically the hotel stacks up well - great location, massive rooms (albeit dark), free Internet, definitely cheap, friendly staff, pretty quiet... But the fit out hasn't been updated since the 70s or 80s I'd say. The TVs are new but the carpet, couch, kitchen, gym and most features haven't been updated in a long, long time. At just over $100 for a big room it's great value, and clean; perhaps just look at it as being nostalgic rather than dated and you won't have a problem.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a old fashion downtown appartments with full kitchen. Not very clean. Furnitures are very old. It is good for the price though. Do I stay again and recommend to others ? Not sure. Walkable distance to reds stadium. It is not safe to walk after sunset like other downtowns.
Staff were courteous.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Love the suites. The staff is always nice, and helpful. We have always stayed here anytime we are in Cincinnati, and will continue to. It's close to the stadiums, the Taft Theater, as well as numerous bars and restaurants. The rooms are always clean, and nice, especially the renovated rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Address: 2 Garfield Place, Downtown, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati’s best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Rated the #1 Cincinnati hotel by TripAdvisor, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garfield Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.