We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandma, you need to remodel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garfield Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Garfield Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garfield Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Garfield Place, Downtown, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 49 hotels in Cincinnati
Delaware, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Grandma, you need to remodel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Your perspective will influence how you feel about this place. For me, I felt like I was visiting grandma asking her if she was going to remodel anytime soon. Grandma says but I just remodeled and I have to remind her that the she remodeled in 1980. To grandma, it feels like yesterday. To me, it felt like 1980. The place was worn around the edges. Almost everything had wear on it from the furniture to the wallpaper to the paint and carpet. Now, if you don't mind this and you want a huge suite for comparatively little money, then maybe this place is for you. Can't argue with the room size. Two bedroom suite with balcony, full kitchen and living room for $129.00 is a decent value on the highway and a phenomenal value in a downtown environment. This is located is within walking distance of most tourist sites in downtown including the casino, fountain square, and the stadiums. Stadiums are a bit of a hike but walkable. There is a restaurant on property. We did not eat there so I don't know if it is good. They have a bar also. There is vending in the lower level. Vending prices are good for a hotel. $1.25 for a soda and $1.00 for bottled water. About half or less of bigger hotels. If you don't mind not having a fresh room appearance, then maybe this is the place for you. Would I stay here again? Really depends on the price. If significantly cheaper than another hotel then yes. If within $40 or $50 of a nicer place then probably not. Not a terrible experience at all. Staff was good and friendly, location is great, parking is close, price was good. Downside was how I felt while in the room. It just felt dirty and rundown. It really needs a facelift.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    188
    101
    65
    59
See reviews for
162
166
52
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

For our sixth wedding anniversary, my wife and I caught a reds game and stayed at the Garfield suites. We upgraded to the penthouse and boy was that a mistake! The 1970's called and they want their room back! Wallpaper, yes wallpaper was peeling off of the walls in every room that it was in. It was very pleasant outside nearly 60 and sunny all weekend and imagine the beautiful scenery the penthouse has to offer with no furniture at all. When I called the front desk and asked "Ron", he called me back and asked if we could take the kitchen table and chairs outside...what a joke! Do not waste your time or money on this place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Another night at the Garfield Inn and Suites. Enjoyed our stay as usual. Staff still as friendly as ever. We went to Cincinnati at the last minute. All hotels were booked. The Garfield called us back with a cancellation. Spent the night. Got a shuttle for the game. A reds victory, and a Brandon Phillips bobble head.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure what the word for discriminating against a hotel based solely in looks is- maybe 'hotelist'? The thing is, statistically the hotel stacks up well - great location, massive rooms (albeit dark), free Internet, definitely cheap, friendly staff, pretty quiet... But the fit out hasn't been updated since the 70s or 80s I'd say. The TVs are new but the carpet, couch, kitchen, gym and most features haven't been updated in a long, long time. At just over $100 for a big room it's great value, and clean; perhaps just look at it as being nostalgic rather than dated and you won't have a problem.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a old fashion downtown appartments with full kitchen. Not very clean. Furnitures are very old. It is good for the price though. Do I stay again and recommend to others ? Not sure. Walkable distance to reds stadium. It is not safe to walk after sunset like other downtowns.
Staff were courteous.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Love the suites. The staff is always nice, and helpful. We have always stayed here anytime we are in Cincinnati, and will continue to. It's close to the stadiums, the Taft Theater, as well as numerous bars and restaurants. The rooms are always clean, and nice, especially the renovated rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The room I had was good with a balcony......medium size flat screen TV in living room.....old type smaller TV in bedroom........staff was friendly for the most part.....restaurant was good except one night we had to ask for menus after being seated....then we waited and waited and had to ask if ok to order......service was poor but the food was good......best part was breakfast...........best seasoned sausage gravy I ever had in a restaurant .......my biggest disappointment was the parking and the hallway from parking structure to lobby......it was like walking thru a maze with up and down steps.....makes it very difficut if you have luggage......hotels should NEVER have steps when you go to and from parking

Room Tip: Drop luggage off at the Bellhop (whom expects a tip) if you do not want to drag luggage thru the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Address: 2 Garfield Place, Downtown, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 49 hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati’s best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Rated the #1 Cincinnati hotel by TripAdvisor, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garfield Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.