We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stay here every time we're in Cincinnati.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garfield Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Garfield Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Garfield Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Garfield Place, Downtown, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We stay here every time we're in Cincinnati.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Love the suites. The staff is always nice, and helpful. We have always stayed here anytime we are in Cincinnati, and will continue to. It's close to the stadiums, the Taft Theater, as well as numerous bars and restaurants. The rooms are always clean, and nice, especially the renovated rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    196
    108
    73
    63
See reviews for
166
175
52
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The room I had was good with a balcony......medium size flat screen TV in living room.....old type smaller TV in bedroom........staff was friendly for the most part.....restaurant was good except one night we had to ask for menus after being seated....then we waited and waited and had to ask if ok to order......service was poor but the food was good......best part was breakfast...........best seasoned sausage gravy I ever had in a restaurant .......my biggest disappointment was the parking and the hallway from parking structure to lobby......it was like walking thru a maze with up and down steps.....makes it very difficut if you have luggage......hotels should NEVER have steps when you go to and from parking

Room Tip: Drop luggage off at the Bellhop (whom expects a tip) if you do not want to drag luggage thru the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I stay here every time I come to Cincinnati. You cannot beat the value and the excellent staff. Always stay in the same suite. 3 bedrooms and kitchen. I would recommend the Garfield every time. Free shuttle to the ball game. Shuttle runs about every ten minutes. Also the restaurant is great. At a great price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went for a big convention--on opening night of the Reds season. So we were glad to get a room at all downtown. AND we got a good price through our group. The 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen and 1 bath was large and clean, and the gym was the best and biggest we've ever seen. BUT the suite looked tired and the furniture dated. For some reason I did like it that it was Thomasville furniture, though.

The maid kept forgetting to replenish all our daily supplies--she even took away the dishwasher soap one day, leaving us with none. I did see a cockroach in the hall of our suite one night--yuck. .

Room Tip: the beds were a full bed in each room--so if you are 2 six-footers like my husband and me, you may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on April 5th. I was unsure what to expect due to some mixed reviews on different sites. I must say I was very happy with my experience. The staff was friendly and the common areas and rooms were very clean. I read some reviews containing complaints about stains on tables and cabinets needing to be replaced. I did find that the cabinet in the bathroom does need to be replaced. Regardless, it was still clean. When you consider the fact that Garfield is one of the least expensive hotels in the downtown area and the rooms are apartments, you should be willing to overlook these petty issues.

The hotel is within walking distance to everything. Including the Taft Theater and ball park. There are numerous restaurants and bars in the area. We had room service for breakfast from Cafe Martin. We were pleased with the quality and price. Even after the delivery charge and 20% gratuity, it was the most reasonably priced meal we had.

If you are traveling with family, on an extended visit, or if you're like me and hate feeling cramped, you can't go wrong at Garfield.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I'll start off with the positives. The room was very clean, the staff very friendly and accommodating, and the shuttle service was great. Now for the neutrals/negatives...The thermostat didn't work for both rooms. The bedroom blasted hot air and the living room blasted cold. I considered calling the desk for help, but decided it wasn't a huge deal at the time. In the kitchen, drawer fronts were loose. This really wasn't a negative, particularly, but an observation none-the-less. Kitchen included glasses, mugs, plates, bowls, pots and pans, silverware and a few kitchen knives, a bottle opener, can opener, cooking spoons, toaster, microwave, coffee maker and dishwasher, along with the expected fridge, range and sink.

The bathroom was fine, but I did notice some mold across the top of the wall. The bathroom exhaust fan didn't seem to work and the bathroom is wall-papered. Wall-paper is really a bad idea for a bathroom. Again, not a complaint; just an observation. The shower had an adjustable massage-type shower head, which was very pleasant after a long day.

The living room was great--huge TV, comfortable sofa and chair. The dining set was ok, but the tabletop was wobbly. Dining chairs were comfortable.

The bedroom was very comfortable. Full closet, queen bed which I would have liked to take home with me, and tv and small chest of drawers. No complaints here, other than the hot air.

We needed a ride home from the convention center and the valet was quick and very friendly. The front desk staff and the bell-hops were very friendly and helpful with information and getting us checked in and out.

Overall, we do plan to stay here again next year when we come back to Cincinnati. The negatives weren't negative enough to warrant a formal complaint (although, had the weather been bad, I would have asked for the thermostat to be fixed), and for the price? Can't beat it. Others I knew who were in town for the same event but stayed at other hotels didn't have near the amenities the Garfield offered, and they paid the same, if not more, for their rooms.

If you're wanting up-to-the-minute decor and sheer perfection in every last detail, go find a hotel that offers that and be prepared to pay through the nose for it. If you want a comfy place to stay with an excellent hotel staff and the ability to prepare meals in the suite, and affordable parking, and affordable rates, reserve the Garfield.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Your opinion of this hotel will really depend on what you are looking for in accommodations. There is no doubt that this is a good value. It is an old condo/apartment building converted to a hotel, so you get two bedrooms, living room, full kitchen, dining room and full bath for $129 (when we stayed). It is in a central location downtown, with a FREE shuttle to several tourism places. Parking is in an attached garage (Consider carefully whether to get the parking package. Normal rates are only $6 max per day at the garage. The hotel offers a deal for $10/day, with in/out privileges). Breakfast is not included, but there is a cute cafe downstairs.

The downsides are many, however. The room we were first assigned was dingy and musty smelling. We had gotten the free balcony from the trip advisor coupon, but it wasn't worth the smell in the room. We were reassigned to a larger suite on a higher floor that was much better. There is new, attractive carpet in many places in the hotel, but it was installed so poorly that it is buckled (i.e.bunched up) routinely (given a poor appearance). Some of the floors have new, attractive paint, while others have very old wallpaper.
The couch, chair and lamps in our second suite's living room were new and attractive, but they were off set by the large water stain on the ceiling and the torn curtains. All of the other furniture in the room was OLD, as in scratched and marred like 1950s odds and ends, but functional. The suite was very clean so we overlooked these trifles. The sleeping accommodations, though, were what tipped the scales for me. My son slept soundly in his own room so he was thrilled with the arrangements. For us though, the bed was small (a double), the sheets fit poorly (pulling out several times during the night) and were very rough (I slept in long sleeves the 2nd and 3rd night because of the scratchiness) , and the bed creaked every time we moved. Lastly, the toilet paper at the Cincinnati Zoo was far better than what this hotel provided and we had to hold the lever to get the toilet to properly flush. Annoying, but still, it worked.

The staff was less than welcoming. They all seemed very overworked. The front desk staff were always busy when we approached, making us wait until they finished their computer or paper work whenever we approached and then they acted annoyed with our interruption. They never answered the phone when called from the room. The housekeeper woke us up at 8am the first day with several rings on the doorbell (fixed with the "do not disturb" sign the other days). The shuttle driver only spoke when we asked him a question, vs. taking the opportunity to point out city attractions. The waitresses were literally of breath from running between tables (we waited a long time for our meals). The maintenance staff never fixed the one broken lamp in the suite or the non-functioning TV remotes that we reported (there were 3 TVs in the suite, one being a Hi-Def).

If all these negatives were so awful, why did we stay? Because the suite was spacious and practical. Our waking time was actually very comfortable and relaxing. The location and transportation options were economical and practical. The fitness room was large, had a great view and had decent equipment. ...AND all the other hotels in the area were much more expensive. SO, not luxurious by any means, but very, very practical.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Address: 2 Garfield Place, Downtown, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati’s best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Rated the #1 Cincinnati hotel by TripAdvisor, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garfield Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.