We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enormous "vintage" suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garfield Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Garfield Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Garfield Suites Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Garfield Place, Downtown - Entertainment District, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Balcony Upgrade!
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enormous "vintage" suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The accommodation at this downtown hotel is truly huge. The room I was in consisted of a large bedroom and additional large sitting room. The bathroom was on the small side but completely adequate, and there was a full kitchen complete with oven, cook top, dishwasher and full size fridge. If you want to self cater this is definitely the hotel in Cincinnati to book, and although the mini mart across the road is expensive and not well stocked, the hotel has a free shuttle bus that can take you to the markets over the Rhine for good value fruit, vegetables and meats if you do want cook for yourself. The only downside is that the rooms have not been updated for several decades and the kitchen in particular has that definite 1970s "vintage" look and feel. However, the rooms were spotless, comfortable and well kept, and the vintage feel was more a source of humor rather than annoyance.

The other positive of this hotel is the staff. In all conversations I had, they were polite, efficient and very keen to please. All in all this is a good mid priced downtown option for Cincinnati.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    209
    116
    78
    71
See reviews for
178
186
53
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had wanted to stay at this property in spite of all the multiple bad reviews about it. However, I will never stay there now after my experience. I first received inaccurate information from booking a reservation through a .com service. When I learned I was given false information about this hotel's limited shuttle service needed for my doctor's appointment I tried to cancel. I was put on hold for so long I had to hang up. After a day of flying to reach Cincinnati I called this hotel again. Not only can you not expect a "normal, average, quality" room that you can find at the same rate at a modest chain, but you also cannot expect the same quality, professionalism in the tone and attitude of some of their staff. Expect Motel 6 (worse if you read the reviews) without the light left on for ya.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarfieldSuites, Director of Sales at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for posting this! This is a good and fair warning to everyone. There are many third party companies on the internet phishing for commissions. Always ask your operator if they are physically IN the hotel you are calling and not located in some offsite 3rd party call center. If the operator is NOT physically in the hotel you are calling find the correct phone for the hotel and ask to speak to an in-house reservationist. Garfield Suites is proud to be consistently ranked among the top 10 hotels in Cincinnati year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nice downtown location, allowing easy access to at least one very good restaurant and to the Cincinnati Shakespeare Theatre; Rooms were clean and reasonably well appointed; 15th floor was quiet; because we were going out to dinner and to a play, we didn't bother with the beer/wine reception and can't comment on it; staff was polite; checking in and out went smoothly; preferring to walk a few blocks to restaurant and theatre, we didn't use their shuttle but probably would have, in the event of inclement weather; overall, we'll probably stay there again. It's not a luxury facility, but it's quite reasonably priced for that location.

Room Tip: 15th floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Was in town for a sporting event with a few friends. We needed a reasonably priced suite that had lots of room and a full kitchen in the downtown area. So in that regard it served its purpose.

The decor is dated, worn and shabby at best. Not very many plug ins for electronics. Several of the doors in the kitchen were broken and once u opened them, they didnt close again. The beds were not comfy but the sheets were clean.
The bathrooms were extremely small and dated as well. Didnt appear to be the cleanest, but again it served its purpose.

For future events in the downtown area, the price and location is the best feature, not the decor. If you are wanting something more upscale with less dated decor, I would suggest going elsewhere.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The suite I had (I was upgraded without additional costs) was really huge. The hotel offers free valet service, has truly excellent service and very kind staff. Free wifi is available, but there is no opportunity to print. The restaurant is also pleasant with very reasonable prices. I can sincerely recommend the Garfield!

Room Tip: Especially for business trips it is very nice to have a nice workspace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I were not really intereted in staying downtown much in the past but, recently we decided to try it. I'm happy we did! This hotel is a wonderful place to stay for a couples night out. The employees were friendly and helpful. The hotel has an older feel to it but very clean and I would recommend the resturant! I only wish they had a pool onsite....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here 3 times for a getaway mini vacation and 3 times we had different room layouts. We lived the space , the seperate bedrooms, kitchen, and living room , evens balcony on some plans. For the price. Service, location and space, it is hard to beat in Cinn .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Address: 2 Garfield Place, Downtown - Entertainment District, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati's best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Situated in the entertainment district near the casino and Reds stadium, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garfield Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.