We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garfield Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Garfield Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Garfield Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Garfield Place, Downtown, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quick Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nice downtown location, allowing easy access to at least one very good restaurant and to the Cincinnati Shakespeare Theatre; Rooms were clean and reasonably well appointed; 15th floor was quiet; because we were going out to dinner and to a play, we didn't bother with the beer/wine reception and can't comment on it; staff was polite; checking in and out went smoothly; preferring to walk a few blocks to restaurant and theatre, we didn't use their shuttle but probably would have, in the event of inclement weather; overall, we'll probably stay there again. It's not a luxury facility, but it's quite reasonably priced for that location.

Room Tip: 15th floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    202
    112
    74
    66
See reviews for
168
181
52
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Was in town for a sporting event with a few friends. We needed a reasonably priced suite that had lots of room and a full kitchen in the downtown area. So in that regard it served its purpose.

The decor is dated, worn and shabby at best. Not very many plug ins for electronics. Several of the doors in the kitchen were broken and once u opened them, they didnt close again. The beds were not comfy but the sheets were clean.
The bathrooms were extremely small and dated as well. Didnt appear to be the cleanest, but again it served its purpose.

For future events in the downtown area, the price and location is the best feature, not the decor. If you are wanting something more upscale with less dated decor, I would suggest going elsewhere.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The suite I had (I was upgraded without additional costs) was really huge. The hotel offers free valet service, has truly excellent service and very kind staff. Free wifi is available, but there is no opportunity to print. The restaurant is also pleasant with very reasonable prices. I can sincerely recommend the Garfield!

Room Tip: Especially for business trips it is very nice to have a nice workspace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I were not really intereted in staying downtown much in the past but, recently we decided to try it. I'm happy we did! This hotel is a wonderful place to stay for a couples night out. The employees were friendly and helpful. The hotel has an older feel to it but very clean and I would recommend the resturant! I only wish they had a pool onsite....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times for a getaway mini vacation and 3 times we had different room layouts. We lived the space , the seperate bedrooms, kitchen, and living room , evens balcony on some plans. For the price. Service, location and space, it is hard to beat in Cinn .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This all suites hotel is located conveniently near downtown attractions. It could use a face lift, but it was clean and the beds were great. The staff was friendly and offered an umbrella for travelling in the rain. We ate breakfast in their small, busy restaurant. It was simple, but tasty. All in all, a two bedroom suite for one night at that price downtown was a good deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We selected this hotel based on recent reviews for location, quality, and service. We loved being in town and close to the stadium since we had come to town for the Bengals-Steelers game. We had seen reviews that the rooms needed to be updated, but were great suites with LR, kitchen, and BR. "Needs updated" is a major understatement. Not only was the furniture old, it was beat up, and the room was not clean. I felt like I walked into a nasty college apartment, circa 1981. The carpet was all ripped up, the shower was moldy, and the furniture and floors were disgusting. I didn't want to put my bare feet on the bathroom floor, nor did I want to walk around in white socks, so I wore my Adidas slides the whole time we were in the place. There was hair in the shower and on the bathroom floor. Unbelievable. I would ABSOLUTELY NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Address: 2 Garfield Place, Downtown, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati’s best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Rated the #1 Cincinnati hotel by TripAdvisor, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, EasyToBook, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garfield Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.