We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Symphony Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cincinnati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Symphony Hotel & Restaurant
Save Saved
You added Symphony Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
210 W. 14th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Cincinnati B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Symphony Hotel is located in the re-developed Over the Rhine neighborhood of Cincinnati, which is becoming a must-see attraction for out of town visitors. Like the neighborhood itself, the Hotel has recently undergone renovations, which include updated rooms and a new outside addition. I used to live in the area and had dinner at the Hotel before a Cincinnati Pops show. The food is excellent, you would be hard pressed to find a better meal in such a comfortable setting with great friendly service.

My girlfriend and I recently stayed overnight while visiting Cincinnati last month and I can guarantee that we will be back. It was an absolute bargain and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTRHotel, General Manager at Symphony Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I'm so glad you & your girlfriend had a great experience with us on your visit to our boutique

hotel in "OTR"! Thank you for the positive feedback on the Restaurant & customer service! We

love what we do here at the Symphony Hotel & hope you come & visit again soon!

Thank You, Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    13
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
26
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Nestled in a great neighborhood (Historic Over the Rhine http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Over-the-Rhine), this beautiful building adjacent to Cincinnati Music Hall and Washington Square Park. Walkable to a lot of the great things the city has to offer.

David, our host, was nothing but gracious. The room (we got the Mozart suite) was beautiful, quiet, and cozy. The bed was amazing. Clearly, no details were overlooked.

We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

To those who know Cincinnati, the prospect of staying in Over the Rhine might not be on the triptik, but OtR is changing and the neighborhood offers interesting niches, such as the Symphony Hotel. More a B&B than hotel, the Symphony is in a renovated house located right across the street from Music Hall and the newly refurbished Washington Park. My room was very comfortable and he continental breakfast hit the spot. There are lots of new, small restaurants and cafes in OtR now. David, the manager, is an accomplished chef and a very nice person who knows a lot about the neighborhood and the changes that have come. As of August 2012, they were just getting ready to open a cafe next-door, a deck off the second floor and, I assume, additional rooms - so, it's only getting better. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They offer rooms with a bath and ones with a shared bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My friend and I recently went up to Cincinnati to see the Cincinnati Opera's Porgy and Bess. In looking at hotels that were close to Music Hall as well as bars and restaurants we found Symphony Hotel as affordable as most other hotels nearby. With a great host, comfortable rooms, and a great continental breakfast to start the day, we were very happy with the trip.

We stayed in the Brahms room, which has a private bath with a jetted shower, which was part of my reasoning for booking the room.

We will definitely be staying here on our next visit to Cincinnati, and we'll be bringing friends!

Thanks for a great hotel David!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Symphony Hotel is in the located across the street from the Cincinnati Music Hall in a neighborhood that's in the midst of renewal. The host, Dave, greeted us warmly and gave us some helpful tips about getting around the city. We were in town to see a Reds game, and Dave steered us to a great place for dinner near the stadium. He also advised us to walk to the ballpark and take a cab home, which was cheaper and faster than parking at the ballpark. The hotel is a restored Victorian mansion with high ceilings, large windows, and beautiful woodwork. Our room was comfortable, but only moderately clean. The dark tile in the shower needed a good scrubbing, and the dark paint on the walls throughout the hotel gave every room a dingy look. The hotel was recently air conditioned. There is no elevator. The continental breakfast was adequate. This is a hotel that is still evolving, and I expect it will become even better as time goes on.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We were in Cincy for a convention and wanted a place to stay that was away from the convention crowds. What a pleasure it was to head back to our room after a long day of speakers, exhibits, and purchasing to our quiet room. The neighborhood is very peaceful, yet just a block or two away is a very happening area with all sorts of unique shops, restaurants, and bars. There was on-street parking reserved specifically for guests as well as a small lot at the rear.
Our room with private bath was on the second floor and while a bit on the dark side, it was very comfortable and fit our needs perfectly. The sink was in the bedroom rather than in the bathroom making it much easier for us to both get ready in the mornings without tripping over each other. The bed was comfortable, not too hard and not too soft with plenty of pillows for chosing your favorite. A desk and chair were in the room in case you are needing to do some work, as well as a wardrobe for hanging clothes, a luggage rack, a good sized dresser, television with many channels, and a beautiful old piece to sit on and tie your shoes.
Breakfast was a treat, plain and simple. Friday morning we were served what I would bet is the best continental breakfast I have ever had. There were bagels, pastries, muffins, orange juice, coffee, and fresh fruit with yogurt. Saturday morning we were served much the same with the addition of omelets, bacon, and waffles.
This was our first B&B stay, and surely will not be our last as we enjoyed the laid back atmosphere so much. When our convention time is set for next year, we will certianly be registering at the Symphony again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We arrived late, so had to call and get the manager out of bed to come down the street to let us in. He was very accommodating, offering us a glass of wine and a nice chat. He tried to help us find someplace to get food late at night. The room was small, but completely clean and comfortable. In the morning, there was a fantastic array of bagels, muffins, etc and fresh fruit with yogurt. My boyfriend and I actually felt bad that we paid so little for such a nice experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTRHotel, Manager at Symphony Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are always here to accommodate all of our guests needs & love doing it as well!
Thank you so much for staying with us in our boutique hotel in OTR, it was a pleasure meeting both of you! Hope to see you again soon on your next stay in Cincy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Symphony Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symphony Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 210 W. 14th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Symphony Hotel and Restaurant: located in Historic Over the Rhine, next to Washington Park and Music Hall. The hotel has 9 composer themed guest rooms, a gourmet breakfast in included on Saturday and Sunday morning with a complimentary continental breakfast Monday - Friday. Additionally, there is free parking, flat screen television, direct TV, high speed internet, a large out door roof top deck and rooms have individual heating and air temperature control. Friday and Saturday's: five course gourmet dining in our historic dining room, bourbon and wine tasting in our tasting room and craft cocktails in our lounge with complimentary live jazz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Symphony Hotel & Restaurant Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Symphony Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.