We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Symphony Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cincinnati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Symphony Hotel & Restaurant
Save
You added Symphony Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
210 W. 14th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Cincinnati B&B and Inns
Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We were in Cincy for a convention and wanted a place to stay that was away from the convention crowds. What a pleasure it was to head back to our room after a long day of speakers, exhibits, and purchasing to our quiet room. The neighborhood is very peaceful, yet just a block or two away is a very happening area with all sorts of unique shops, restaurants, and bars. There was on-street parking reserved specifically for guests as well as a small lot at the rear.
Our room with private bath was on the second floor and while a bit on the dark side, it was very comfortable and fit our needs perfectly. The sink was in the bedroom rather than in the bathroom making it much easier for us to both get ready in the mornings without tripping over each other. The bed was comfortable, not too hard and not too soft with plenty of pillows for chosing your favorite. A desk and chair were in the room in case you are needing to do some work, as well as a wardrobe for hanging clothes, a luggage rack, a good sized dresser, television with many channels, and a beautiful old piece to sit on and tie your shoes.
Breakfast was a treat, plain and simple. Friday morning we were served what I would bet is the best continental breakfast I have ever had. There were bagels, pastries, muffins, orange juice, coffee, and fresh fruit with yogurt. Saturday morning we were served much the same with the addition of omelets, bacon, and waffles.
This was our first B&B stay, and surely will not be our last as we enjoyed the laid back atmosphere so much. When our convention time is set for next year, we will certianly be registering at the Symphony again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
29
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We arrived late, so had to call and get the manager out of bed to come down the street to let us in. He was very accommodating, offering us a glass of wine and a nice chat. He tried to help us find someplace to get food late at night. The room was small, but completely clean and comfortable. In the morning, there was a fantastic array of bagels, muffins, etc and fresh fruit with yogurt. My boyfriend and I actually felt bad that we paid so little for such a nice experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTRHotel, Manager at Symphony Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are always here to accommodate all of our guests needs & love doing it as well!
Thank you so much for staying with us in our boutique hotel in OTR, it was a pleasure meeting both of you! Hope to see you again soon on your next stay in Cincy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

Visited Cincy and had a blast in the
neighborhood. Loved the OTR area with its unique neighborhoods and activities Loved being able to walk a few blocks to great restaurants and to very cool Coffee Emporium. Yes it is an old neighborhood and yes there are homeless people but we walked the neighborhood both day and night for 2 days with no incidents.

Staying at the Symphony Hotel was not the high point. It sounded better on line than in reality. It is an old dark hotel with the motif of classical composers but little more going for it. The above mentioned dark red drapes, poor in room lighting, dirty cracked windows and extremely hot rooms made for an uncomfortable weekend. We had to ask repeatedly to have the heat lowered as it was unbearably hot. There was an in-room air conditioner but it was so noisy it was like running a turbo engine in the room.

The chef was very nice and the food adequate but not above average. He was helpful in suggesting ideas around town and clearly liked his job.

Our room was straightened after the first night but not cleaned. Glasses we used Friday night were still in the room when we returned late the next day - still with the left over wine in them.

I can't give them a high recommendation except that they are close to interesting things. That may be worth it for that reason. Not a bad place. Just not a great one.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Hotel: The owner was very accommodating and friendly as he upgraded my room to one with a bathroom and offered me a glass of wine as we talked about O-T-R and CinCin (I am an Urban Planner). Everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, the furnishings were appropriate, and the continental breakfast was good.
OTR: This is an AMAZING collection of intact mid to late 1800's buildings that are either restored, in the process of being restored, or awaiting restoration. The entire neighborhood has been down on its luck for decades and is currently regenerating at light speed. Day or night OTR is moving into a better economic future as restaurants, creative-class business, galleries, etc... are popping up from downtown going northward. Although conditions exist in the OTR environs that will make some people nervous, get over your TV/movie influenced fears and walk around and enjoy the beauty of the area. This area is changing so quickly (for the better) that earlier comments (2+ years) should be ignored (as should my observations in a few years).
Future: The park in front on the Music Hall will be finished in 2012 and the Streetcar line (say a prayer) will be finished a few years later. These two improvements will dramatically speed up the regeneration of the area and I predict that OTR will be (at some point) in the league of Beacon Hill or Charlston or old San Juan. It is that impressive!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

What a great experience! Such a charming and warm environment and so close to Music Hall it made it fun to "walk next door" to the Symphony! Chef David Buchman made the very best dinner and breakfast we have had in a long time! It started with the squash soup which was to die for and was wonderful all the way to the pumpkin cheesecake and drinks later with him in the bar! Breakfast was delightful and the wonderful aromas from the kitchen woke us up! He is a wonderful host and the service was so personal. Thank you, David! All the best-Julia Wesselkamper

Room Tip: Ask David! He'll personally pick one for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTRHotel, General Manager at Symphony Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi there!

Catching up on reviews....Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments with your stay here at the Symphony Hotel! Glad to hear you enjoyed the Jazz music & the cooking! We try to put everything out with Love. Hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We recently stayed at the Symphony Hotel. This seemed like a more interesting alternative than a large, urban hotel. We were called by the hotel on the day of our arrival to plan our arrival time-a nice touch. When we arrived, we had a reserved parking space at the front door. David, who manages the hotel was kind enough to offer some wine and discuss our plans for the evening and following day. Overall, a welcoming alternative to the usual wait-in-line check-in experience in a larger hotel.

We stayed in the Bach room, which was comfortable and very quiet given the city setting. This room has a sink in the corner of the room, and private toilet/shower off the bedroom. Overall, the house is a solid, late-1800s Italianate building with tall (10 ft?) ceilings, stained glass transoms above doorways, fireplace mantels, a grand staircase, and with some original art throughout. It is a little dated but that is more than compensated by the character of the building and the friendly atmosphere.

The neighborhood may or may not be comfortable depending on what you are used to. David pointed out that the homeless shelter in the area (not directly near the hotel) adds to the mix of people. The hotel faces the side of the Music Hall. The windowless wall of brick plus the lack of development on either side of the hotel make for a kind of barren feeling when you step outside. So we preferred to drive rather than walk. The nearby Washington Park is under major construction and one gets the sense that the area will have a more contiguous developed pattern rather than more spotty development as it is now.

Overall, you should consider the Symphony Hotel if you want a more personal place to stay in the Cincinnati city-center. If you are attending a concert at the Music Hall, it's perfect.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I highly recommend the Symphony Hotel in the budding Over The Rhine neighborhood in downtown Cincinnati. As a patron of the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, and a frequent visitor to Music Hall, the close proximity to the venue can't be beat. The hotel is directly behind Music Hall. I stayed in the Mozart Room and was struck by old world charm and a sense of music history. The room, adorned with beautiful antique furniture, was exceedly comfortable, quiet and peaceful - an excellent retreat. Staying at the hotel without enjoying the 5 course meal, that is served on weekend nights prior to performances at Music Hall, would in my opinion, be a grave mistake. The chef prepares just the right amount, of what he refers to as "light french" cuisine. The portions are just perfect. I left the table, in the elegant dinning room of this stately mansion, sated and not in the food coma that sometimes results from multi course meals. The Chicken Marengo was to die for. The pumpkin cheese cake is the best cheese cake I have ever tasted. The memory of that special meal, just over a week ago, will linger for a long time. What will also linger in my memory for a long time is the always gracious and hospitable hotel manager and head chef, David Buchman. Although, he had a full house for dinner, and the hotel was also full, Chef Buchman seemlessly managed to make me feel as if I was his only guest. The full breakfast that Chef Buchman prepares for hotel guests on weekend mornings is sublime as well. A scrumptious, and more than ample, continental breakfast is provided on week days. Finally, upon leaving, I discovered that The Symphony Hotel is so safe that you can (I do not recommend such clearly absent minded behavior) leave your car key in the car door and rest assured that no one will steal said car or its perhaps quite valuable contents.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Symphony Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symphony Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 210 W. 14th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Symphony Hotel and Restaurant: located in Historic Over the Rhine, next to Washington Park and Music Hall. The hotel has 9 composer themed guest rooms, a gourmet breakfast in included on Saturday and Sunday morning with a complimentary continental breakfast Monday - Friday. Additionally, there is free parking, flat screen television, direct TV, high speed internet, a large out door roof top deck and rooms have individual heating and air temperature control. Friday and Saturday's: five course gourmet dining in our historic dining room, bourbon and wine tasting in our tasting room and craft cocktails in our lounge with complimentary live jazz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Symphony Hotel & Restaurant Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Symphony Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.