We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi! Sushi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kyoto Japanese Cuisine

Kyoto Japanese Cuisine
12082 Montgomery Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45249
(513) 583-8897
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #220 of 1,656 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sushi! Sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

There are a lot of sushi restaurants available in the area, but this is the best. Fresh fish at a very good value. We have eaten here many times, and have never had a bad meal or poor service. Check it out.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Above aveage for this area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Prices are a touch on the high side but the sushi is very good for this area. They do some fusion so not wverthing is traditional. Thats good in my opinion for a strip mall sushi place. They have a good selection of beer as well and a decent menue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst Japanese food ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I am from Columbus Ohio. While in Cincinnati for the Master series tennis tournament, my wife and I decided to get some Japanese in Cincinnati.We found this restaurant in Trip Advisor as the top pick for Japanese. Is this some kind of joke?? The food is pricey and not good.Okay maybe it's because I am Asian but I am Chinese not Japanese and even so I know this is bad Japanese. We ordered the bento box and soba chicken noodle. The soba noodle is not soba noodle at all! It's what you get from Chinese restaurant called Lomein noodle. The miso soup is lukewarm and watered down. The salad is just lettuce with some thousand island dressing poured over it. The rice is not even Japanese!! What I am getting is Chinese cook trying to make Japanese food. The servers are lethargic and sloppy. Look embarrassed to be working there. They don't clean the tables properly. The table we were seated at was sticky.I have been to a lot of Japanese throughout the States and nothing like this. Yuck! The price is around $50 for both of us.which is about what you would pay in a decent Japanese restaurant but everything about this restaurant is below average. The price in this case is ridiculous.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have eaten here so often the cooks all know us. We bring our kids and grand kids. They all love the food. Great selection with beer and wine. Something for everyone. I like the spider roll and California roll. If you like real sushi then try Kyoto.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Surprising for a Strip Mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Although this restaurant is tiny, I did not feel crowded on an early Friday night. I selected a Bento box so I could sample the miso soup. Everything was delicious and I was also able to take home leftovers. So close to home; how did I overlook it this many years.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyoto Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Kyoto Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyoto Japanese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.