We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kyoto Japanese Cuisine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kyoto Japanese Cuisine
12082 Montgomery Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45249
(513) 583-8897
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 1,729 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“All around good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I ate at Kyoto for dinner tonight. We were all around impressed! I had beef teryaki, and my wife had chicken hibachi. Both of our meals were top notch. The quality of the steak was very good. The sauce was excellent. All around very tasty.

They did not furnish a fork; you are encouraged to use chop sticks. I'm sure they'd give you a fork if you ask. But, everyone was using the chop sticks, which fits the atmosphere of this place.

Atmosphere. The place is small, close quarters. It's not fancy, almost feels like it should be a street cafe in a busy Japanese city.

We aren't sushi fans, but they certainly had an extensive list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    13
    11
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average food, Excellent Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The sushi is fresh, but not creative or flavorful. We ordered their special rolls that included spicy salmon and spicy tuna. In addition, we had soup, salad, and edamame.

We didn't realize that there were special happy hour prices for the sushi so the bill was extremely affordable. In fact, I don't remember ever getting sushi at such a low price. So, if you're in the neighborhood, especially around their happy hour time frame, then it's good enough.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Our Go To Sushi Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Kyoto is a very small restaurant not ideal for large parties. Kyoto specializes in sushi but they also serve some cooked meals from their menu. We have never tried any of those so I can't comment on the quality or taste. We always go for the sushi and sashimi and we have never had a bad roll or a bad piece of sashimi. The prices are much more reasonable than any other sushi restaurant in town and their spicy tuna roll is always perfect and our favorite one to order. Other sushi restaurants seem to skimp on the filling in spicy tuna rolls but not Kyoto. The party trays are great for take-out and reasonably priced as well. Service is very good and we have never waited an excessive amount of time for our meal. If you are looking for a good sushi spot this is the place as long as your party is 4 or less.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Good affordable sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Small, busy restaurant frequented by lots of asians and locals. Not fancy but good, reliable, fairly authenticJapanese food. Has a beer and wine license. Fast efficient service. Everything seems to be fresh and made to order. Former manager - Jason - ran it much better than the current management but the food is consistent and the frequent specials tend to be interesting and great to try.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

For a special treat, we love to eat at Kyoto. Although slightly more expensive than several other sushi restaurants, the difference is truly remarkable and well worth it. The sushi and sashimi melt in your mouth, the rolls are well-prepared and often innovative. Monthly specials help to cut down on expenses as well as ordering a lunch or dinner special.
Since moving to Cincinnati 7 years ago from New York, we think this is the best sushi we have ever had. How it is possible to have such fresh fish in southern Ohio is unbelievable to us. Our adult kids, when they visit from NY, want to go to Kyoto the first evening over any other local restaurant.
Often, we have ordered the "boat" filled with sushi enough for the 7 of us. Beautifully prepared and presented, it always amazes us how it disappears so quickly.
For those not interested in sushi, the menu has cooked dishes. There are a surprising number of beer and wine selections as well.
At times, we have noticed that the service is often a little "too" much. Before one is almost finished with a salad or soup, the dishes are whisked away, chopsticks still poised over the plate. I would suggest giving diners a chance to savor each course. Going out and relaxing at lunch or dinner is more pleasurable than preparing to tackle the waitress to bring back an unfinished course!
This is a very small restaurant and often crowded. Since we first started enjoying Kyoto, they have added more sushi chefs and other staff. This helps tremendously with wait time.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyoto Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Kyoto Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyoto Japanese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.