We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service with adequate, not great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Via Vite

Via Vite
520 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
+1 513-721-8483
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Via Vite is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 1,750 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: On Fountain Square, Fifth & Vine Streets
Powderly, Kentucky
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great service with adequate, not great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice convenient location with excellent salads, average entrees, good desserts. Service was quick and efficient

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    97
    27
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“The Food is Definitely Italian, but.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

With a great view of Fountain Square in downtown Cincinnati, Via Vite is an Italian Restaurant that serves up old fashion Italian cuisine in a contemporary setting. During a recent stay in Cincinnati, my wife, neice and I had the opportunity to dine for lunch at VV. They're on OpenTable.com and after seeing the flood of businessmen at lunch, reservations are highly suggested.

The reception was not warm. The woman at the door seemed to be a bit out of sorts about the fact that we were a party of 3 rather than 2. Wow, a French attitude from an Italian restaurant, not something you expect. After the hostess pulled herself together, we were seated. We were the second table seated at 11:30, by 12:30, every seat was taken and people were waiting at the door.
We began our meal with soup. My neice had a creamy potato leek and my wife had a cauliflower soup, while I had the minestroni soup. All Good. Our entrees were eggplant parm and bolognese My Neice and wife loved their eggplant, I thought the bolognaise was a little flat. If you're looking for the traditional bolognaise, this isn't the place to order it. For dessert we all shatred a triumvirate of Gelato (3 different flavors). Overall, the menu looked good, with all the choices of southern Italian cuisine.

The wine list was mid-range in it's prices. Their were a few choices in the $30-40 range. We had a traditional Italian Primativo with our meal for $35. Very nice. The bill for a 3 course lunch for 3 and bottle of wine came to around $150 with tip.

The service was OK, needless to say, when the restaurant became busy, our server disappeared. However, Via Vite is a nice option downtown for lunch or dinner with a view......if you can get around the French attitude and bolognaise

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Grove
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food and friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We ate here very late last night. We had been at the Reds game and we had stopped at several bars to have a few drinks since all of the restaurants in downtown were jammed after the game. We arrived here at about 10:30 p.m. and decided to sit at the bar because we were in t-shirts and jeans. Our bartender, Tim, was wonderful. Very attentive and friendly. He made us feel like old friends. We ordered an excellent bottle of Italian wine. We didn't want a full dinner since it was so late so we ordered the scallop appetizer and pizza. The scallops were fantastic. They were seared perfectly and were in a delicious truffle sauce. One of the best appetizers I have ever had. We also ordered one of their wood fired pizzas. It was delicious. The owner/chef, Christian stopped at the bar to see how we liked our food. Very nice touch. It happened to be his birthday so my husband who is an excellent singer, sang Happy Birthday to Christian. It was a memorable night and when we come to Cincinnati again, (we are from Milwaukee) we will definitely come back and have dinner. We also ordered chocolate cream brulee which was rich and creamy. Perfect end to the perfect meal. Thank you Christian and Tim for a good time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful Saturday Evening Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had 7:30 PM theater tickets so reserved for 5:30 PM. By 6 PM, this place was jam packed, but throughout the service was excellent. Even before we had any food the owner and head chef came over to our table to talk, and he returned two more times, which we found very charming. He is a ubiquitous presence in the dining room. We four shared a wonderful bottle of Oregon pinot noir. Husband and I thought that our salads with warm boucheron goat cheese and spring mix were delightful, particularly fresh with a lovely raspberry white truffle vinaigrette. We also had a special gnocchi with vodka sauce, mine with some Italian spicy sausage, and it was extremely tasty. The spinach ordered on the side pleased as well. Our friends' yellowfin tuna was perfectly cooked and his wife ended up taking home 1/2 of her gorgeous bianca pizza.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Quality Italian in Fountain Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Overall, i had a pleasant meal. The starter was diver scallops with a brown butter truffle vinaigrette and parmesan shavings. The vinaigrette was perfectly executed, and the scallops were perfectly seared, crispy on the outside. The main was a creative take on gnocchi, pan fried to a crispy texture with four cheese sauce and shaved truffle. Here the four cheese sauce lacked a bit the pungent flavor of gorgonzola or ricotta, but still a pleasant dish. To finish, sorbets- salt caramel, which was delicious; chocolate orange, lacking a bit on the orange; and amarena. The menu has a series of starters including bruschetta, wood fired pizzas, a number of salads, pastas including classic ragu bolognese and cinghaile pappardelle, and a number of mains including lamb shank and seared tuna. The wine list includes many Italian classics and wines by the glass, and there are plenty of cocktail and beer options. In all, an enjoyable meal. A 3 course meal with wine runs between $80-100 per head.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Vite also viewed

Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Via Vite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Via Vite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.