We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be 5 star except for service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Via Vite

Via Vite
520 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
+1 513-721-8483
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Via Vite is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 1,781 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: On Fountain Square, Fifth & Vine Streets
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Would be 5 star except for service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Chef Christian always does an amazing job on the food!! I've never had anything that wasn't 110% delicious! The boucheron goat cheese salad is my favorite!! Short ribs, ravioli, lasagna, soups, NY strip, desserts, etc are all five star. In the 15+ times we've dined here we have only had acceptable/good service once. Service is constantly slow and inattentive here. We keep coming back because the food is that awesome! Definitely worth a visit!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    109
    29
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“urban Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Love the kitchenside option, nice variety of Italian food, good drinks, excellent vantage point for Fountain Square activities.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Solid Food and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our server made this experience great with his knowledge of the menu and suggestions from the wine list. The options on the menu made decisions difficult, and he offered excellent guidance. Really solid Italian fare with bold flavors and wonderful presentation. Definitely worth a visit in its convenient Fountain Square location.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Margherita Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Ive been here twice now and enjoyed it both visits. It's a neat atmosphere being that it's not only downtown, but on Fountain Square where everything's happening!

I has the Margherita Pizza thus past visit and it was great. Had a salad at my diet visit and that was great as well!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good in Downtown Cinci”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Cinci has very few restaurants in downtown, this one is in fountain square just opposite the Westin. I admit I was not expecting much from this unassuming restaurant but the food was really good! I had the braised lamb shank with polenta ... yum! The meat was nicely seasoned, a very good size ( not a NY mini portion) and was fall off the bone tender. If I had known the portion size would have been so reasonable I would have skipped the assorted brushettas to start. The Appetizer ( yes it was a capital A portion) was great with at least 5 different types of toppings olive, tomatoes, hummus, and artichokes. We could not take on the desserts because it would just have been too much for one sitting. Cinci is opening up more restaurants close to the ballpark but I would highly recommend this one if you are in downtown.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Vite also viewed

Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Via Vite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Via Vite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.