We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Food and Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Via Vite

Via Vite
520 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)
513 721-8483
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Via Vite is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 1,729 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: On Fountain Square, Fifth & Vine Streets
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Solid Food and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our server made this experience great with his knowledge of the menu and suggestions from the wine list. The options on the menu made decisions difficult, and he offered excellent guidance. Really solid Italian fare with bold flavors and wonderful presentation. Definitely worth a visit in its convenient Fountain Square location.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    113
    90
    24
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Margherita Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Ive been here twice now and enjoyed it both visits. It's a neat atmosphere being that it's not only downtown, but on Fountain Square where everything's happening!

I has the Margherita Pizza thus past visit and it was great. Had a salad at my diet visit and that was great as well!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good in Downtown Cinci”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Cinci has very few restaurants in downtown, this one is in fountain square just opposite the Westin. I admit I was not expecting much from this unassuming restaurant but the food was really good! I had the braised lamb shank with polenta ... yum! The meat was nicely seasoned, a very good size ( not a NY mini portion) and was fall off the bone tender. If I had known the portion size would have been so reasonable I would have skipped the assorted brushettas to start. The Appetizer ( yes it was a capital A portion) was great with at least 5 different types of toppings olive, tomatoes, hummus, and artichokes. We could not take on the desserts because it would just have been too much for one sitting. Cinci is opening up more restaurants close to the ballpark but I would highly recommend this one if you are in downtown.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Upscale Downtown Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Delicious Italian Bistro. Had a great experience while on Cincy visiting this restaurant and dining by myself. Excellent baby arugula salad. Only a few notes but well played ones. The chef's specialty slow braised lamb shank was an intimate experience. And a great value for the size of the shank. Serves with creamy polenta. Make nice with the staff and ask for a side of peperonata (chef's family recipe) with your bread: slow cooked peppers and onions rossed with olive oil and tomatoes at the end. Great staff and mgmt.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Cincy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I'm not the guy who likes the pizza chains, I look for pizzerias that offer up fresh ingredients and great pizza. My favorite pizza is Cavalli's in Dallas and Lombardi's in NYC. Via Vite is very good, maybe in my top ten that I've tasted. I always get the 'Prosciutto cotto e funghi'--Italian ham and mushrooms and it has always been good. We have tried their caesar salad, not bad but the dressing is a little to anchovy for my liking. Their bread with balsamic/olive oil as a free appetizer is excellent, very good bread. The restaurant is in a great spot on the Fountain Square downtown Cincy. I am giving a 4 out of 5 because the service has been hit or miss. We have had really good service and we have had poor service, more good than bad but you don't forget the bad.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Vite also viewed

Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Via Vite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Via Vite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.