We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Eagle soars in pairing comfort food with craft beer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eagle Food and Beer Hall

The Eagle Food and Beer Hall
1342 Vine Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
513-802-5007
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 1,765 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Eagle soars in pairing comfort food with craft beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

After reading these positive reviews, we decided to give this place a try. It did not disappoint. An excellent selection of craft beers on draft (we enjoyed The Poet oatmeal stout from New Holland Brewing) coupled with great comfort food (excellent fried chicken and succotash) made this a terrific place for a late Sunday lunch. The atmosphere is bustling and funky cool, and fits well with the similar vibe of the Over-The-Rhine neighborhood. This is a solid stop if you're looking for fresh, tasty food and craft beer.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Eagle has great food an a variety of craft beer. The kitchen makes few things, but they make them right: fried chicken and traditional comfort food sides. There is a large variety of bottled and draft beer and a great bourbon selection. Definitely worth a try.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Go for the chicken!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were at this place early on a Friday afternoon so we didn't have to wait for a table. It wasn't too crowded when we got there, but things really picked up around 5:30. We had a large group. The majority of us got the fried chicken and then ordered several of the sides to share. The chicken is excellent with a slightly spicy touch. Be careful if you use the honey that comes with it....it really packs a punch and is super hot! We got the mac and cheese, collard greens, and spoon bread (sweet cornbread). Don't let the inexpensive prices fool you. There was plenty to go around because the portions are quite generous! I'll definitely go back for lunch and dinner...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ohio
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

First of all let me mention that I have lived in Cincinnati for most of my 54 years and I think it is GREAT to see this part of Town be revitalized! Twenty years ago you did not dare walk these streets alone. Now there are many restaurants, coffee houses, and refurbed apartments and Condos around the area. My son and I went to the Eagle after hearing all the hoopla over the fried chicken. Indeed for whatever reason you simply do not see fried chicken on too many menus these days. The chicken WAS good but not great in my opinion. You could certainly taste the red pepper as it had a definite "bite"! The cheese grits were awesome and the spoonbread was very good. My son had the collard greens and I thought those could have been cooked more. Not really a "beer hall" as they had maybe a dozen or 15 beers on tap....good selection though. We went on a Monday night early and the place was PACKED...nice to see in Cincinnati!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“New restaurant in an old part of town... but the food is worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The food at The Eagle is great... but unless you "knew" they had good food (or food at all), you would miss out because it LOOKS just like a beer bar from the outside. Now.. while it does have beer, and is labeled a "beer hall" the FOOD is fab. It is southern comfort food at it's finest. The fried chicken is spicy and comes with a tasty (even spicier) dipping sauce. The sides include collard greens, sweet potatoes, Mac and cheese, cole slaw and spoon bread. Everything is tasty and served in a timely manner. My one complaint is that they don't serve dessert... (but there is a Graeter's across the street)
The Eagle is located in the Over the Rhine area of Cincinnati. A neighborhood that "back in the day" you would never walk around in let alone go to a restaurant in but Cincinnati is slowly changing and adding great restaurants like The Eagle to get people back downtown.
I LOVE The Eagle and would recommend eating there... if you are visiting the Cincinnati area, or if you live in Cincinnati and have not been in the downtown area lately.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eagle Food and Beer Hall also viewed

Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to The Eagle Food and Beer Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eagle Food and Beer Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.