We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a romantic time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Acres Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Six Acres Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Six Acres Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5350 Hamilton Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45224   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Cincinnati B&B and Inns
Lakeside Park
1 review
“had a romantic time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed there overnight. We had dinner that was out of this world. Mona is one of the best chefs I have ever had, We had the whole place to our selve, which was great. I was so cold outside but they made it so warm and comfortable inside. Our Breakfast was even great as well. Mona you ar the best. The history of the house was so cool to learn about and now know. To stay somewhere that even back then the hospitallity was great. My husband and I will go back later when it is warmer weather so we can enjoy the outside of the bed and breakfast. To sleep and stay at a place that history has walked the hallways and in the attic as well was so real. The house was decorated as if you could see and feel the history. Please try it out when you come to Cincinnati Ohio. Thank you Kristin for the wonderful experience.

Room Tip: choose one that would make you feel like you want to live during that time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
20
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011 via mobile

Do you ever have the feeling that you want to open a B&B (or restaurant, coffee shop, etc) just so you can show 'em how it's done, how even you with limited experience in the field could make it so much better? that's how we felt staying here.
When we arrived (which was a bit after check in time but was cleared with owner), there was a party going on that included the owners friends, and it felt as though we were just walking into someone's house into the middle of where we didn't belong. No one greeted us at the door it heard us come in. There was no obvious place to check in or find the owner. Finally one of the friends at the party walked by and saw us and told the owner we were there. She came out telling us there was a party going on we were welcome to join and have some wine...but really it had been a long day and we just wanted to get our stuff to the room and relax, not join a party where we felt like crashers. We were taken to our "first floor" room, that was 2 half flights of stairs up. Good thing I didn't take her word for it and have someone who couldnt do stairs with me! The room was fine, there were hardly any pictures on the website so we didn't know what to expect. Typical antiques and quilts and unworking fire place. It was freezing so I had to get a space heater to warm it up. Finally we got our things in and asked the owner if there was any coffee and she very graciously made us a pot... We took it to our room and got in pjs. Then we inspected the bathroom more and found that there was no toilet paper, soap, or shampoo. We didn't think to bring shampoo or soap since places usually at least have small sample sizes. And we certainly didn't bring our toilet paper! So my husband had to change back into clothes and go down to ask for these things. The cleaning lady got them for him then walked him back to the room and just barged in before he could open the door, even though I was in here and could've been changing or sleeping... She apologized for no toilet paper but wasn't very friendly about it.
The noise of the party went on til close to midnight. The bed was old and extremely uncomfortable. And there were just little things that weren't totally essential to the room but inexpensive and would add so much comfort, like a clock of any sort, especially if you need an alarm in the morning, a towel bar so the hand towel isn't just hanging into the sink, a toilet paper holder (perhaps the sight of one would make them remember to leave toilet paper), and even leaving at least an extra towel? There were 2 total in the bathroom, and I'm sorry but a lot of women need one for their hair! We didn't want to go down to ask for another thing so just made do.
I hoped the breakfast would redeem the place in some way, but I'm sorry to say it didn't at all.
Everything about the place and the service was pretty unprofessional, and ruined the stay. We wouldn't recommend the place or stay there again unless there were major changes, probably starting with ownership.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Great food, wonderful company. House and rooms are beautifully restored, spacious and quiet. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Located on Hamilton Avenue, adjacent to highway and easy to get anywhere in Cincinnati/Northern Kent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago heights
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed in the new addition to the complex-the annex. My sister and our husbands were in the group and the roomy suite, which included individual bedrooms,baths, a kitchen, dining porch, and sitting room were great for entertaining the rest of the family who joined us for homemade brownies in the evening. The rooms were spotless. Kirsten is still working on the annex's decor so it wasn't quite up to the perfection of the main house's rooms, but she has done an excellent job. We got to tour the main house and see the room connected to the underground railroad.
She went out of her way to accommodate one of our group who is gluten free and made him special pancakes from gluten free mix for breakfast. Her cranberry spice bread was to die for and she was wiling to give us an early breakfast so we could get to the quilt show early.

Room Tip: Ask for the annex if you need privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Everything a bed and breakfast should be. Very homey, comfortable, clean combined with the comforts of home. The building has been well restored and has an interesting history. No bed and breakfast experience is complete without a friendly and attentive innkeeper and staff. The innkeeper and her staff were always smiling, friendly and personable, which was appreciated. A hot delicious breakfast was always ready on time, served with a smile.

I would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Five couples gathered for a reunion. It worked well for us because we had the whole house to ourselves and were able to make ourselves at home. It has a large family room with comfortable seating for 10 where we were able to reminisce and enjoy our friendship. Kristen was an exceptional hostess. Very friendly and informative about the surrounding area. Never without a smile. The bedroom on the third floor was the least favorite. There was nothing particularly special about it. All the other rooms were comfortable and tasetefully decorated. There was one bedroom that used a bathroom on the floor above?
All in all a very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

What a wonderful stay.... I booked a birthday weekend getaway for my Honey and what a wonderful stay. Was so easy to get to Newport, downtown Cincinnati and Kings Island.

Coming back from our outings we felt so comfortable like coming home. Room & private bath where spacious with great reading rooms and outdoor seating to enjoy the evenings.

Kristin is a wonderful host and a great cook (you will love her breads). We had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Acres Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Acres Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5350 Hamilton Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45224
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Six Acres Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Six Acres Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Acres Bed And Breakfast
6 Acres Bed & Breakfast
Six Acres Hotel Cincinnati
Six Acres Bed & Breakfast Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Acres Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.