We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Cincinnati” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boca

Boca
114 E 6th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
513-542-2022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Boca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 1,782 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Main and Walnut
Description: Italian food with heart, elegance, and authenticity. Details and passion drive our team to create an extraordinary dining experience. The daily changing menu offers authentic Italian cuisine fashioned with contemporary French technique. Boca is for your special occasions, for meeting up with loved ones, and for anyone who revels in food, drink, and service.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This fine Cincinnati restaurant is in the same space as the old Maisonette restaurant, Cincinnati's premier restaurant for so many years that closed it's doors and sat empty until the current owner totally remodeled the space. Boca seems to have filled it's shoes very well since it opened at this location in February of 2013. We took family there who have lived in San Francisco and London They were pleasantly surprised by the fabulous meal we had there over the 4th of July weekend. Each of our dishes was outstanding and the service was excellent. The grand open staircase and large chandelier make this 2 story restaurant a welcoming gem in Cincinnati.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    39
    17
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A great choice for a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

this place was top notch from every aspect of the meal. outstanding service, outstanding food, great decor. you can choose a small plate option which allows you to basically have two smaller meals (great when you can't make up your mind). appetizers, entrees, deserts...everyone at the table enjoyed their choices. i cannot come up with one negative thing about boca.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“New location, similar experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having eaten at Boca throughout the years at its previous incarnations in Northside and Oakley, I found this latest experience at their new downtown location to be equally satisfying. I came in on a busy night but as a single I was able to sit on a raised bar seating overlooking the kitchen- so I got to watch the construction of many of the dishes, including the signature caramelized Brussels sprouts with seared scallop, which as always, was being chosen quite often.

The menu is set up well for trying many courses, as the mains are available in tasting portions. The starters had a good range of selection- I chose the steak tartare, which was creatively laced with truffle oil and minced carrots and cucumber to create a crunchy texture, then topped with a quails egg. I would have liked the quail egg to have been poached but it was cooked through- still a good dish. I did a taster of the squid ink tagliolini which was served with mint and lemon butter. It was a really pleasant, well balanced dish although I was seeking just a bit more mint. I did the Boca filet for the other course - a nice piece of filet with crab hollandaise on top, fingerling potatoes and a little bit of a bordelaise type sauce. Very good overall, although the sauce lacked a bit of strength which if it were a bit stronger would have made the already excellent dish perfect. Besides these courses, there were some interesting dishes on the menu such as a range of steaks including an excellent looking Beef Wellington laced with truffles - my neighbors had that and they were quite pleased with it, and also an Amish chicken dish as well as some fish options as well. A wide selection of wines, both by the glass and bottle , as well as cocktails and craft beers accompany the food. Service, as always , is professional and courteous. Décor is very attractive inside, with a lounge like, modern feel.

Once again, Boca hits the mark for me- look forward to the next chance i'll have to stop by again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spectular with issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The new Boca is spectular, the food was very good , they will work out some staff issues. As they say, 'hard to find good help'.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service; great space.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Boca has moved to the former space of the (undeservedly) legendary Maisonette and instead of Maisonette's haughty service, it offers attentive, friendly, and indeed kind service. The salads and main courses were wonderful. We have eaten in all three incarnations of Boca and each has been unique. Our requested "quiet table" was reasonably quiet until 4 noisy diners were seated at the adjoining table. Wow, with Sotto and Nada of the same group adjoining, the choices for great food are now amazing downtown Cincinnati.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca also viewed

 

Been to Boca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.