We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cincinnati favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boca

Boca
114 East 6th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Oakley)
513-542-2022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Boca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,725 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Oakley
Cross street: Between Main and Walnut
Description: Italian food with heart, elegance, and authenticity. Details and passion drive our team to create an extraordinary dining experience. The daily changing menu offers authentic Italian cuisine fashioned with contemporary French technique. Boca is for your special occasions, for meeting up with loved ones, and for anyone who revels in food, drink, and service.
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Cincinnati favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wood fired grill. Sous-vide. Sushi. Outstanding food and wine list. Given the above cooking styles you can actually go here and have a reasonably healthy meal (but only if you try!)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    28
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Terre-de-Haut, Guadeloupe
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
377 helpful votes 377 helpful votes
“BOCA - Sublime Italian for the Foodie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten at restaurants all over the world. Our most difficult cuisine to enjoy is Italian. My wife is Italian and nothing compares to Grandma. Occasionally, in the hills above Sorrento, in the Tuscan countryside, on a back street in Rome, at a trattoria in San Francisco, or a tiny restaurant in the West Village, she will find the cooking wonderful and almost comparable to Grandma. BOCA meets her high expectations and often goes beyond. It is simply a marvelous dining experience and surpasses anything else in the Midwest for Italian, including Chicago and the kitchen refuses to bend to the Midwest palate which often demands over saucing and a cloying sweetness to the cooking. The Mozzarella imbedded in lemon was sublime. The pastas are cooked al dente with just the correct amount of homemade sauces. Service is professional, but with a personal warmth that makes dining an experience rather then simply a meal. BOCA's wine list, in spite of the state of Ohio's antediluvian restrictions on alcohol, is interesting and filled with inexpensive choices and my favorite, half bottles of great wine. If BOCA was close by, I would weigh 250 pounds with a cholesterol count higher then the national debt. It is a restaurant done right and a treasure for the city of Cincinnati.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thank you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

After moving back from Europe my husband and I were feeling a bit depressed about the food selection in southwest Ohio. However, after a Valentine's dinner at Boca, we are both feeling happy and revived! The food was great and the service was top notch. Thank you for renewing our culinary spirit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Special Night or Date Night Made Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is our favorite spot to celebrate life's milestones. The waitstaff bring their expertise to the table with the wine and the food. The anticipation of the cuisine is satisfied in every way. Amazing flavors and textures delight from seared scallops, brussels sprouts from heaven to desserts too tempting to pass up. It is pricey, but an experience to remember.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband & I visited Boca for the first time over the weekend and had an AMAZING meal! Boca may just be my new favorite restaurant in Cincinnati! We each had the "3 course & dessert" and everything was outstanding! It is not a cheap spot to dine, but for the food and the experience, it is worth every penny. They do great with spacing out each course as well so you have a minute to let your food settle before the next course comes... and they keep you supplied with bread, which I realized soon into the meal was absolutely necessary to mop up all of the yummy sauces and juices left on your plate... our plates were clean at the end of every course! Delicious.. highly recommended for any special occasion!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca also viewed

 

Been to Boca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.