We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pricey, but excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boca

Boca
114 East 6th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Oakley)
513-542-2022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Boca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,725 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Oakley
Cross street: Between Main and Walnut
Description: Italian food with heart, elegance, and authenticity. Details and passion drive our team to create an extraordinary dining experience. The daily changing menu offers authentic Italian cuisine fashioned with contemporary French technique. Boca is for your special occasions, for meeting up with loved ones, and for anyone who revels in food, drink, and service.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very pricey, but excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We've been to Cincinnati many times but we had somehow never visited Boca until recently. With the exception of the Tuna Tartare which we sent back (we found it bland) everything that we ate was truly exceptional. The fish (we ordered halibut and sea bass) was as moist and delicious as you could ever imagine and all of the desserts were excellent. I'd also recommend the shell pasta with porcini mushrooms which was out of this world. The wine list is extensive, with options at pretty much every price point, and service was first class.

Be aware, however, that all of this comes at a price. There is no a la carte menu. The menu is either 2 or 3 courses, plus dessert, for a fixed (and not small) price. Our bill for 4 people, including a modest bottle of wine, exceeded $400.

That said, for a special dinner it's well worth it. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    91
    22
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Consistently Delicious - Well worth the short trip from downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have eaten at Boca a few times now and have yet to be disappointed. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable and the service top notch. The menu is straight forward and uncomplicated with well thought out parings on each offering. The decor of the restaurant is contemporary, simple and rich and you are immediately greeted by the smell of the wood fired grill that wafts throughout the seating room.

On this visit, I ordered the scallop with brussel sprouts to start and the chicken over mushroom rissotto with truffle; both were amazingly flavorful and perfectly cooked. While the location is a little out of the way, it's well worth the ~10 minute drive from downtown Cincinnati. I will be back here for future dining.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Delicious Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I indulged in the chef's 7 course tasting menu with wine pairings a few weeks ago. The wine pairings were spot on, and each course presented different ingredient combinations with great depth of flavor. Particular favorites include the scallop with caramelized Brussels sprouts, the Skuna Bay Salmon (which was cooked perfectly and melted in the mouth) with green beans and beets, and finally the mascarpone cheesecake. Our attentive waiter explained every course along with the accompanying wine. The atmosphere was great for a dinner for two. The night did end up being rather expensive, but for an every-once-in-a-while splurge it was worth every dollar.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful but pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I rated it excellent due to the awesome food, service and great atmosphere. My only warning would be that you pay for it....as long as that doesn't bother you I would say it's one of my top choices in Cincinnati. If you're looking for a nice evening out for 2, you might want to go on a week night. The back room was particularly quiet and pleasant.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't expect me to go back there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The food is so terrible I can't remember when I've had worse. I was stunned that food that was supposed to be "Italian" could be so bland. How is that possible?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca also viewed

 

Been to Boca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.