We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Delicious Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boca

Boca
114 E 6th Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
513-542-2022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Boca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,658 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Main and Walnut
Description: Italian food with heart, elegance, and authenticity. Details and passion drive our team to create an extraordinary dining experience. The daily changing menu offers authentic Italian cuisine fashioned with contemporary French technique. Boca is for your special occasions, for meeting up with loved ones, and for anyone who revels in food, drink, and service.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
211 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Delicious Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I indulged in the chef's 7 course tasting menu with wine pairings a few weeks ago. The wine pairings were spot on, and each course presented different ingredient combinations with great depth of flavor. Particular favorites include the scallop with caramelized Brussels sprouts, the Skuna Bay Salmon (which was cooked perfectly and melted in the mouth) with green beans and beets, and finally the mascarpone cheesecake. Our attentive waiter explained every course along with the accompanying wine. The atmosphere was great for a dinner for two. The night did end up being rather expensive, but for an every-once-in-a-while splurge it was worth every dollar.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    43
    17
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful but pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I rated it excellent due to the awesome food, service and great atmosphere. My only warning would be that you pay for it....as long as that doesn't bother you I would say it's one of my top choices in Cincinnati. If you're looking for a nice evening out for 2, you might want to go on a week night. The back room was particularly quiet and pleasant.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't expect me to go back there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The food is so terrible I can't remember when I've had worse. I was stunned that food that was supposed to be "Italian" could be so bland. How is that possible?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hands-down my favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Moving to Cincinnati, I was apprehensive about the local restaurant scene, as everyone brags about their neighborhood being a test market for new chains (there are some decent chains, but the local places always have my heart). The food is creative and just wonderful, the sommelier is incredibly knowledgeable and the service is fantastic. Boca wins as my favorite Cincinnati restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Still the best in town..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have been going to Boca for several years and it is still the most creative and enjoyable restaurant in Cincinnati. Meals are innovative, service is pleasant and helpful, the sommelier is knowledgeable and clearly loves his job and the wine list is ample and fairly priced. Desserts could use a make-over. It is a pleasure to dine at Boca.

I am told that they are soon moving to downtown Cincinnati to occupy the space formerly held by such landmarks of a prior (and very much less discerning) time: La Maisonnete and Le Normandie. In a way, Cincinnati dining comes full circle. I hope that the feeling and "scene" will not be lost in the move. We will try it again when we are back in town in a year or so.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca also viewed

 

Been to Boca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.