We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not pass this by! Stop in and enjoy quality service and decor.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchids at Palm Court

Orchids at Palm Court
35 W 5th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801 (Central Business District)
513-421-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Orchids at Palm Court is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,657 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Race Street
Transit: TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.
Description: Orchids at Palm Court is an award-winning fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Executive Chef Todd Kelly is the American Culinary Federation's 2011-2012 USA Chef of the Year, the highest honor given by the 50,000+ chef organization. “Top Cincinnati Restaurant” by Zagat (2011, 2012, 2013) and named "One of the Top 100 Restaurants in USA" and "One of the Top 100 for Best Service in USA" by OpenTable, 2011, 2012 & 2013; AAA 4 Diamond (2006-2012). Orchids offers a contemporary American menu that is seasonally updated with local ingredients. With breathtaking French Art Deco including two-story Romanesque murals, rare Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel wall sconces & an original Rookwood fountain featuring two large seahorses all restored to the 1930s grandeur. Complimentary valet parking.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Do not pass this by! Stop in and enjoy quality service and decor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I stay often at the Hilton Netherlands And always enjoy sitting in the lounge for a night cap beverage. The Art Deco interior of this building and lounge is a treasure and should not be passed by. This place is amazing with wonderful service and incredible interior details.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    60
    19
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best bar in town on weekends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The bar associated with this restaurant is absolutely the best. Great wine, great drinks. Weekends is crowded with people of all ages and all modes of dress. the service at the bar is the best. Thank you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
“Easter brunch was quite the disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were greeted by our server who must have been on drugs or suffering from a severe hangover. She introduced herself as "John" and pointed to a gentleman across from us who was waiting on another table and said, this is "Jackie" who will also be your server. After catching herself she tried desperately laughing her way through it and went through her fake introductions no less than three times. I was tempted at that point to ask for another server and wish I had. I had to repeatedly ask for my first cup of coffee. The food was good but the place was extremely crowded...to the point of being miserable trying to make your way through to the food stations. Trying to get the check was impossible and then trying to wait for change leave a tip, I finally gave up as I decided the air-head waitress we had simply didn't deserve even a down-turned penny. Not the same place I remembered going to in the past. Saddenly disapointed to pay that kind of price for a nice brunch and leave feeling like I did. I hope it was just one person's very unfortunate bad experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best butter in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

While all of the food is excellent and the service wonderful, the butter they use for the rolls is amazing. You'll know what I mean when you try it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Special Occasion Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Orchids is almost a hidden gem in CIncinnati. It's the Hilton NEtherland Plaza restaurant, so there are some people who are unaware of just how excellent the restaurant is, thinking it's just another hotel restaurant. First, the art deco decor which was only uncovered in the 80s when the entire hote was undergoing a renovation, makes you feel like royalty. It's an astounding looking restaurant. The bar area is gorgeous and perfect for a drink before dinner. The dining experience is very high end. Service is above par, the food is always very delicately put together and delicious, and the presentation is incredibly artistic.
If you get the chance, go for Sunday brunch. It's perhaps the best brunch of my lifetime. Absolutely incredible. Reserve many weeks in advance for Easter and Mother's Day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchids at Palm Court also viewed

 

Been to Orchids at Palm Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchids at Palm Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.