We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchids at Palm Court

Orchids at Palm Court
35 W 5th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801 (Central Business District)
513-421-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Orchids at Palm Court is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,730 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Race Street
Transit: TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.
Description: Orchids at Palm Court is an award-winning fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Executive Chef Todd Kelly is the American Culinary Federation's 2011-2012 USA Chef of the Year, the highest honor given by the 50,000+ chef organization. “Top Cincinnati Restaurant” by Zagat (2011, 2012, 2013) and named "One of the Top 100 Restaurants in USA" and "One of the Top 100 for Best Service in USA" by OpenTable, 2011, 2012 & 2013; AAA 4 Diamond (2006-2012). Orchids offers a contemporary American menu that is seasonally updated with local ingredients. With breathtaking French Art Deco including two-story Romanesque murals, rare Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel wall sconces & an original Rookwood fountain featuring two large seahorses all restored to the 1930s grandeur. Complimentary valet parking.
Troy, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Worth the trip to Cincinnati for this amazing foodie dinner. We enjoyed everything. My husband had his favorite dish ever there, the tilapia. It was the perfect combination of sweet, salt, texture. The tilapia was wrapped in phyllo dough, which was crispy and amazing. The sauce was apple matchbook cut pieces, sweet and savory. And, it was topped with a tzatziki sauce. Such a different dish that worked amazingly together. We also loved the gnocchi with pork belly & the appetizer tuna dish was my favorite of the evening, it was pure loveliness!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    42
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour at the Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was in town on business and decided to eat light at the bar. I was greeted warmly by the staff and asked if they had any drink specials. They did and I enjoyed their house made Negroni along with a fantastic brussel sprout shrimp dish that had amazing flavor.

The room makes you feel like you are in a movie - old time luxury. Great piano player and terrific atmosphere. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“High ceilings, art deco style.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great for a business dinner. Aside from what the reviews say, not be very best food in Cincinnati -- I was expecting better. I found the food a bit heavy/creamy for my taste. The service was outstanding. The room is impressive. Really excellent for a hotel.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Gourmet food with stunning scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Fantastic food, fine cuisine and delicious ingredients, for a very good price. This is the best restaurant in Cincinatti, according to critics. I can definitely rate to that. Tasting menu is a must and very affordable, even with accompanying wines. Service is very friendly and effective. Worth trying and going back without any doubt !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best Food in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to Orchids for the first time on 2/22 for my birthday. The food was amazing. Very inventive, very creative, and unbelievably flavorful. The service was spectacular. While the Palm Court is unique and interesting it doesn't make for great restaurant ambiance in my opinion. But, that doesn't concern me too much because when I go out to eat it is to experience the food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchids at Palm Court also viewed

 

Been to Orchids at Palm Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchids at Palm Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.