We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food/Service a Little Slow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchids at Palm Court

Orchids at Palm Court
35 W 5th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801 (Central Business District)
513-421-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Orchids at Palm Court is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,668 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Race Street
Transit: TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.
Description: Orchids at Palm Court is an award-winning fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Executive Chef Todd Kelly is the American Culinary Federation's 2011-2012 USA Chef of the Year, the highest honor given by the 50,000+ chef organization. “Top Cincinnati Restaurant” by Zagat (2011, 2012, 2013) and named "One of the Top 100 Restaurants in USA" and "One of the Top 100 for Best Service in USA" by OpenTable, 2011, 2012 & 2013; AAA 4 Diamond (2006-2012). Orchids offers a contemporary American menu that is seasonally updated with local ingredients. With breathtaking French Art Deco including two-story Romanesque murals, rare Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel wall sconces & an original Rookwood fountain featuring two large seahorses all restored to the 1930s grandeur. Complimentary valet parking.
West Central Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Food/Service a Little Slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We came in during happy hour. Appetizers were half price which was reasonable. The humus and fries were excellent. There was a drink special but service was slow. (Too few wait staff.) Drinks were stiff and reasonably priced during happy hour. (Too high the rest of the time.)

Happy hour is 4-7pm.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    64
    19
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Orchids is in a stunning setting in the Netherland Plaza Hotel. It is the most spectacular dining setting in Cincinnati hands down. And if that weren't enough reason to go, the food is equal to the magnificence of the room. The flavors and combinations are always interesting, especially in the first and second course options. The service is excellent, but not always quite up to the standards of the room and food. I yearn a bit for the "old days" of tuxedo-clad waiters, which the whole experience deserves, but alas I guess those days are gone.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimes, Iowa
Level Contributor
165 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Overly fussy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had wanted to try this restaurant. The restaurant has an old decor. I had the Blue Cheese Beignets (great) and the Roasted Duck Breast (okay). My wife had the Tasting Menu (5 courses) which included Maine Lobster Salad, Makarel, Sqab, Lamb and Dessert Duet all of which were just okay. The wait staff were very attentive and probably too formal. Overall, not really impressed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You must stop in for drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Disclaimer up front - we did not have dinner here. Having heard about the great art deco architecture of the Nederland Hotel, we made a point of having a drink in the bar at the Palm Court. The hotel has a printed brochure that provides you with a self-guided walking tour of the hotel. It is definitely worth doing. You must also have a drink in the bar and take in the fabulous atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent by any standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I didn't get a chance to have dinner here but had lunch. The scallops were excellent by any standard. The composition was innovative and simply wonderful. The prices are well below New York for the quality. I regret that I have to leave town (going. Home) before having a chance at their full tasting menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchids at Palm Court also viewed

 

Been to Orchids at Palm Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchids at Palm Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.