We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class all the way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchids at Palm Court

Orchids at Palm Court
35 W 5th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801 (Central Business District)
513-421-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Orchids at Palm Court is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,724 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Race Street
Transit: TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.
Description: Orchids at Palm Court is an award-winning fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Executive Chef Todd Kelly is the American Culinary Federation's 2011-2012 USA Chef of the Year, the highest honor given by the 50,000+ chef organization. “Top Cincinnati Restaurant” by Zagat (2011, 2012, 2013) and named "One of the Top 100 Restaurants in USA" and "One of the Top 100 for Best Service in USA" by OpenTable, 2011, 2012 & 2013; AAA 4 Diamond (2006-2012). Orchids offers a contemporary American menu that is seasonally updated with local ingredients. With breathtaking French Art Deco including two-story Romanesque murals, rare Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel wall sconces & an original Rookwood fountain featuring two large seahorses all restored to the 1930s grandeur. Complimentary valet parking.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“First class all the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is fine dining at its finest! The service is superb, as is the food.
A great place to go for a special occasion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    42
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nicer & more expensive than Cincinnati standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very nice location in the liberty-style atrium of one of the "oldest" skyscrapers in town. The food is ok, i.e. above Concinnati average, and quite sophisticated. The price is high vs Cincinnati standards: $70 for a relatively light meal with two cups of wine and dessert.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Chefs tasting menu worth a try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We tried this restaurant during a stay at the Hilton hotel in the same building. We decided to order the five course tasting menu with lobster salad, scallops with carameled cauliflower, pork duet and lamb tenderloin. Excellent mouth watering preparations in reasonably sized portions. I could not have the Chocolate Pavé with Cherries and Fromage Blanc with Rosemary Pineapple for dessert as I am gluten sensitive, but my husband said it was very good. Instead they offered me a trio of house prepared sorbets. My favorite was the coconut. I chose the wine pairing option. Although two were sweeter wines (never my own choice) they worked excellently with each dish. Taught me to keep a more open mind about wines and let the experts help with food pairings.
Staff was extraordinarily courteous and helpful. Superior service on a Thursday evening.Wait staff was sensitive to my dietary needs, making sure to omit and/or modify any ingredient that contained gluten.
Be sure to get hotel guide available at the restaurant and take a quick walking tour of the hotel. The decor is a stunningly beautiful example of art deco extravagance and craftsmanship. How fortunate that this hotel and restaurant was restored to its former glory.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My favorite birthday lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I love the choices, the art filled atmosphere, the courteous wait staff, the fresh pasta grill. Eating is an experience that I have gladly shared with friends and family several times. The prices are very good for such a lovely place.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“One of a kind award-winning restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Wonderful food and art deco decor. There are paintings and mural designs everywhere which apparently were found and restored during certain phases of renovation.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchids at Palm Court also viewed

 

Been to Orchids at Palm Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchids at Palm Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.