We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Cincinnati North CoCo Key Water Resort

Save Saved
You added Radisson Cincinnati North CoCo Key Water Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Radisson Cincinnati North CoCo Key Water Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11320 Chester Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45246 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Cincinnati North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan ahead and save 15%
Ranked #34 of 47 hotels in Cincinnati
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Adequate, disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

First impression, a parking lot that sorely needed repaving.
Next impression, carpets and walls that needed painting and replacing.
Then, in morning, no hair dryer in the room. We called the front desk twice; it was never delivered. i also went to the front desk personally; no dryer. When we checked out, I asked the front desk clerk to describe the situation to the manager, and to have him call me. He never did.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Cincinnati North CoCo Key Water Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Joe B,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and regret our parking lot, room amenities and staff service did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into.

Again, thank you for your review. hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    48
    44
    42
    41
See reviews for
74
31
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAN DIEGO
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Overbooked - Turned away late at night – 8-13-13
Had a two hour delay on our connecting flight and ended up arriving the hotel at 1AM only to find that our three rooms had been given away (even though they were prepaid on Hotwire) They claimed they were overbooked and that they had no info to contact us (not so according to Hotels.com) They booked us at the Travellodge instead and we found out that they paid a rate of $69, much less than we paid for the Crown Plaza. The night manager (Matt Schaeffer) said the GM (Albert Bashir) only authorized for the travellodge to put the overbooked guests into. Did not get to bed at the much lower quality Travelodge until after 2.30 and had to get up early for meetings. Overall a very unpleasant experience. Hotels.com already reimbursed our company however I am writing this review to voice my extreme dissatisfaction and to help prevent this amazingly poor customer service happening to others

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Cincinnati North CoCo Key Water Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear CIARAN71,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and surpass the very high standards of service our guests expect.

We are saddened to hear of your encounters in our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the lapse in service with regard to your reservation. We always aim to provide the highest level of service and we deeply regret that your experience was not ideal and that we were not able to exceed or at least meet your expectations on this occasion.

It is only through valuable feedback we receive from our valued customers that we would be in a position to know where we go wrong and rectify the circumstances or incidents, in order to ensure that we do not repeat the same in the future. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a little dated but overall it was a good value and was a good stay. Was staying there to attend the Western and Southern Open in Mason. The staff was nice and the room was quite clean. The elevator had some mechanical issues but they were quickly taken care of. The hotel is a little old but really is a great value. I would stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Cincinnati North CoCo Key Water Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Brandon D,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness and our staff.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the property condition. We will look into this point. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Do not spend your money or time here. Where do I begin? Dirty glasses, coffee maker, ice bucket still had water in it.Air conditioner leaking on floor to which our luggage was. Beds hard as bricks, sheets felt like sand paper. Garbage over flowing at entrance, broken lounge chairs, no clean up at pool from guest, broken hand rail in pool very dangerous. The business room computers were not working nor was the computer at front desk to purchase Kings Island tickets. We had to go to another front desk computer then tickets were not print. Front desk not very friendly or helpful. We left a day early and told the front desk clerk we were leaving and she said "yes mam". Never asked why. Three positive features, nice tv with cable, fast elevators, has potential to be a nice hotel. Poor managent and employees that probably work with what they have. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Cincinnati North CoCo Key Water Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Renae P,

Thank you for the detailed review of our hotel.

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience that you have encountered during your previous stay with us. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your expectations on most of our amenities and we are truly sorry for the dissatisfaction you had with our level of service. We regret that your experience with us was not ideal and sorry for the lapse in service during your stay.

It is our fullest intention to provide the best experience, as such, we are constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts assuring you of our best attention and service at all times. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

For the past three years, I’ve attended a conference in Cincinnati in August and have stayed at the Crown Plaza Hotel Cincinnati North, since it’s located right across the street from the Conference Center and it’s within a very easy walk just across the road. Hubby tags along since the hotel has free WiFi and there are several places in Cincinnati we like to visit while there. We stayed here two nights. This hotel is connected to the CoCo Key Water Resort and is very popular with families using that attraction. Unfortunately, the only way to obtain a pass into CoCo Key is through the hotel front desk, so there is a continuous line of swimsuit-clad people clogging the front lobby and check-in desk. This makes no sense and causes problems for hotel guests, who have to wait in a long line to speak with the front desk or check in/out. The check-in desk is located quite a winding distance from the entrance to the CoCo Key Resort, as well, which means the floors are constantly wet from the bathing suits and bare feet…just waiting for someone to slip, fall, and hurt themselves. Children are frequently running back and forth (dripping wet) to the check-in desk to exchange/replace torn/missing wrist bands that they have to wear during their visit to the water part. In addition, the hotel rooms and elevators are also located down that same winding hallway/path, so hotel guests are dodging those same wet, excited children (and their usually inebriated parents). And on a final note concerning the hotel and CoCo Key, parking is, of course, at a premium, causing hotel guests to park quite a distance away while the water resort patrons take up the hotel guest spaces.
I will now review the hotel itself. The check-in/out staff has always been friendly, albeit a bit flustered at times when overwhelmed by hotel guests and water park patrons. Check in and out is handled efficiently and quickly. We did have a problem with the room key and had to come back down and have it re-scanned (or whatever it is they do to them). The hotel itself is fairly well maintained, considering the usage it receives, but it could use some constant maid/cleaning service as the floors seem to always be dirty (and wet). Outside trash cans and the grounds need to be picked up and cleaned more frequently, as trash was littering the sidewalks both days we were there. The common restroom (right outside the lobby and restaurant) has always been clean and stocked when I’ve had occasion to visit it. There is a smaller restroom for use by their conference-attending guests, but it is very small (two-seater) and always smells, with no air circulation whatsoever. Hubby reports the men’s restrooms to be the same. The elevators are typical for hotels in that only one or two seem to operate at a given time. Depending on the time of day and usage, of course, the wait can be somewhat long. Other times, not at all. The room hallways were always dirty and we never saw or heard anyone vacuuming them.
Our room the first day was clean, smelled nice, and was well stocked. The room came with a single-cup coffeemaker and as typical for these, the coffee was horrible. A refrigerator would have been nice to store soda pop, as they were $2 each in the hotel vending machine (no joke!!) The floor ice machine operated fine, but was extremely loud and had a constantly running water sound that one could hear all the way to the elevators! Our room was located on the third floor and at the end of the hall. Soundproofing is nonexistent as we heard doors opening and closing and people talking all night. There is also a large gap under the room/hallway door. Noise from the freeway outside was very loud as well, even though the windows didn’t open. As I mentioned, we stayed here two nights. Our second day, while I was at the conference, hubby stayed in the room to use the WiFi and just relax. He waited for the maid service, as he knew he would need to leave to allow them to clean. By 2:30, no one had shown up. He called the front desk and was assured the room would be cleaned shortly. By 3:30, still nothing and another phone call told him they were on the way. It should be noted that check-in for a guest is at 4 p.m., so all of the rooms have to be turned over before then. At 4 p.m., he went to the front desk…after waiting in the water park/check-in line for 30 minutes (are you kidding me?!). The front desk manager said she would send someone up immediately. By the time I got back from the conference at 4:30, there was still no maid service. We decided to go out for dinner and figured the room would be cleaned by our return. You guessed it…at 7:30 p.m. the room STILL had not been entered. Off we trotted back to the front desk and THIS time we weren’t so nice about it. By 8:30, the bed had been made, but the sheets not changed, as the chocolate I had accidently smudged on them the night before was still there. We did have clean towels, though. The used glasses were not cleaned or changed out (lip smudges and fingerprints still clearly visible), but they had been turned upside down and new paper coasters placed on top to make it look as if they had been changed. For our “trouble,” we were given free breakfast buffet coupons to use…which brings me to the restaurant.
The breakfast buffet hot items consisted of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage links, some kind of seasoned deep-fried potatoes, and some other kind of egg-thing that no one was sure what it was. Pasty oatmeal was also available. Everything tasted like traditional, low-quality buffet food. However, a nice assortment of fresh fruit was available, as was cottage cheese, and plain yogurt. Various boxed cereals and milk, granola, apple and orange juices, mixed assortments of bread and plain bagels for toasting, a muffin or two, and sweet Danish was offered. The coffee here was better, but nothing to write home about. If you do NOT have a free breakfast coupon, skip eating here and go a mile down the road where there are plentiful breakfast options more worth your hard-earned money.
All-in-all, the price and convenience of this hotel is NOT worth it. Next year, I’ll look around for someplace else that actually cares about and caters to their hotel guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Cincinnati North CoCo Key Water Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear MaggieMe ,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the inconvenience the service you received from our housekeeping staff may have caused. I am relieved to know that the hotel gave you a complimentary breakfast voucher as a from of compensation. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Ohio, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My job put me in this hotel because of the big tennis tournament going on, and all others being completely booked. The "free wifi", isn't really free, it's $4.00 per day. The service is horrible. The room was not that great either. Bed was uncomfortable, plus there is a big blue light that shined up into my window all night long, that even with my curtains closed, still shined through. Out of a week of staying there, my room was only cleaned and towels replaced once. Bad service, uncomfortable, and they nickle and dime you to death. Very bad experience, would'nt reccommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Choose the WIngate off of Glendale Milford, job put me there. It's cheaper, and a better deal ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Cincinnati North CoCo Key Water Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ryan G,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I am a platinum or gold priority club member, depending on the year. Have been for 25 plus years. This Crowne Plaza is not up to standards on service. Perhaps that is why they are promoting stays for $69 with a Groupon.

20 minutes to check in, although I was the only one at the counter. Inability to find my frequent stay number - three people involved. The third finally got it simultaneous to me pulling it from an archived email.

Common areas and halls were run down. Room was nice, but was missing the remote. Remedied fast once I could get the front desk to answer the phone.

Left prescription glasses in my room. The next day when I called I was pushed to housekeeping, who never returned my call. Three days later I was pushed to the GM, who promised to call back within minutes - no returned call. I chased him down a week later only to be told he was sorry he did not return my call and they did not find them (I assure you they were left there).

The attached water park seems to bring the quality of customer and focus of service DOWN.

Rooms were okay, clean, but the rest not goodk

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Cincinnati North CoCo Key Water Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Filipendulous,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Cincinnati North, OH. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Cincinnati North CoCo Key Water Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Cincinnati North CoCo Key Water Resort

Also Known As:
Sheraton Cincinnati
Sheraton Cincinnati North
Cincinnati Sheraton
Radisson Cincinnati North CoCo Key Water Resort Ohio
Address: 11320 Chester Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45246 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Cincinnati North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Cincinnati North CoCo Key Water Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of Cincinnati awaits you at Radisson Cincinnati North CoCo Key Water Resort. Within easy reach of Interstates 75, 71, and 275, Crowne Plaza Cincinnati North has an unbeatable location just minutes from downtown Cincinnati. Enjoy a family-friendly getaway at CoCo Key Water Resort, our 50,000-square foot indoor water park with thrilling slides, exciting arcade games, Pizza Hut and A&W, and birthday party rooms. While lodging at the Radisson Cincinnati North you are close to many local attractions like Reds' Great American Ball Park, the Bengals' Paul Brown Stadium, and Kings Island. Enjoy Cincinnati family attractions at Newport on the Levee or the Cincinnati Zoo. Our hotel is minutes from Ethicon, Procter & Gamble, GE Aviation, Ford and other corporations in Northern Cincinnati. Our hotel can meet your business and meeting needs with high-speed wireless Internet access, 24-hour business center and 18,000 square feet of meeting space. Combining our hotel's space with the Sharonville Convention Center you'll find a great place to host mid-sized conventions. All your needs are met at our Cincinnati hotel with amenities such as Tradewinds Restaurant and lounge, indoor and seasonal outdoor pool and 24-hour fitness center. Our Radisson Cincinnati North staff look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Radisson Cincinnati North CoCo Key Water Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Cincinnati North CoCo Key Water Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.