We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Crown Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11320 Chester Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45246 (Formerly CoCo Key Water Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
N.Y. Eve Super Splash
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Plainfield, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

4-19-13, we attended a banquet at this property with over night stay. The room on the third floor was ok but not directly connected to the main property which didn't allow for easy access. In addition, the enamel around the tub drain was starting to peel, which one might expect at a budget motel, but not for the price being charged at this facility. During the middle of the night, I was awaken by a loud banging noise which appeared coming from the bathtub facet and lasted about five minutes. This also ocurred during the day. Room temperature was not easily controlled. Weekend breakfast buffet, cable stationsand front desk staff appeared to be the best comforting features for the stay! Allen L.

Room Tip: Insist upon room accessible by main elevator with ice machine that works on the floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crown Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Virgo427,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the kind remarks on our hotel staff and breakfast buffet. Our goal is to make sure everyone enjoys their experience at our facility. We are sorry we fell short of your expectations. I truly apologize for the inconveniences experienced caused by the bathroom facility, noise challenges and room temperature. We appreciate your feedback which will help us improve our service and accommodations for each guest.

We hope to welcome you back upon returning to the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    53
    47
    48
    61
See reviews for
96
35
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This trip was a quick work trip. St. Louis to Cincinnati and back in 36 hours. We arrived at the hotel about 5 p.m. on a Friday, it took us over a half hour to get checked in. There were two clerks and when we finally left still about 20 people waiting to check in.
Oh one quick note, their website says make your reservation on-line to save ($129 a night)...well let me tell you 'DON'T DO IT"!!! When we had one person who couldn't go and we called about two weeks prior to cancel that reservation they told us that if you make a reservation on line you can not cancel. Well you can cancel, but you still have to pay for the room.
Okay, so anyway, the room is nice, the bed is comfy, the heat worked well, the bathroom was clean. One of our other work partners however went to their room only to find the latch locked, maintenance went up there, broke the latch open to find that there were already guests in there...hmmm...seems there could have been a easier way to find this than to muscle into the room.
Went to the bar after our dinner meeting and got there about 10:30 only to hear LAST CALL at about 10:50, really? The only bar in the hotel and it closes on a Friday night at 11:00 p.m.?
Okay all in all not a bad stay, but I won't be back. There are plenty of hotels in this city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crown Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Tinabear,

We welcome feedback especially from our valued guests like you. Please do accept our apologies for not being able to deliver an exemplary service during your stay and apologize for any inconvenience caused by the restaurant schedule and customer service from our hotel staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

our room was very nice and clean and quiet. we checked in super fast. the front desk was very helpful helping us locate an immediate care center to treat my mother-in-laws poison ivy problem(her face was extremely swollen). the tv had lots of channels.

Room Tip: we stayed on the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert B, General Manager at Crown Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello Joyce C, Thank you for your candid review.I will share your comments with my hotel team. It helps me to motivate my teammembers to continually strive for superb service. and it will show them that the Guests will acknowledge their efforts.At Crowne Plaza Cincinnati north
CoCo Key Water Resort we can not wait to see you as return guest.

At Your Services!!!
Albert Bashir-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed this past weekend as this hotel was booked by my daughter's soccer team. Most of the team arrived on Friday, but we didn't come until Saturday. I was hearing horror stories at the field about everything from dirty rooms, gross conditions such as toenails on the floor, to the extreme of bedbugs so needless to say I was nervous. Check-in was fine and we were originally put in an east wing room which was very small. My husband requested a change to the main building which they changed without question. Thankfully other than a musty odor in our room everything was overall clean and no sign of any bedbugs. It was larger than the first room we looked at and worked for the night. The hotel was also very accomodating with a buffet breakfast in one of the conference rooms for the soccer teams staying there which made eating on the run at 6 a.m. very easy. Unfortunately they didn't have a guest laundry room which meant I was washing uniforms in the hotel room and hang drying. This is an extremely BUSY hotel with lots going on so if its a quiet getaway you are looking for, this isn't the place for you.

Room Tip: Main building rooms seemed to be bigger than the older east and west wing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert B, General Manager at Crown Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear.Ms.Terri, Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your guest experience, I am glad to hear that we were able to move your room from East wing to Tower Floor. We were happy that Soccer teams selected our hotel for their accomodation in Cincinnati OH. We do do not have onsite guest laundry, but we do have same day laundry service available for our guests. I am glad to hear that you liked our Breakfast arrangement . We can not wait to see our hotel to be Host hotel for future soccer tournaments.

At Your Services!!!
Albert Bashir- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I booked blind through Priceline and paid only $39 dollars. We were driving through and just need a safe,clean place to sleep. I wasn't expecting much. Checkin took forever and there was only one other party waiting. The room was filthy. The heating system made a shrill sound each time it came on before it smoked and never came on again.
We also booked here for our return trip, but staying here again isn't going to happen. The only positive is the internet. It works fine. The hotel layout requires a extremely long walk to get to the elevators.
I'm at a loss trying to figure how this place received 19 excellent reviews.
I'm with the 19 people who strongly disagree with their viewpoint.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel is the only safe way to get a good room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crown Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Mac M,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations, and I apologize you were not satisfied with the hotel conditions. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a convention at the Sharonville Convention Center across the street. There are definitely some things about this hotel that could be improved upon such as the parking lot was completely littered w/pot holes & there were only 2 employees at the front desk checking in guests in which there were many people in line as the hotel was sold out. We had reserved an executive room, which was nothing special at all w/the exception of being on a quiet floor. For the additional cost, there was just nothing really that stood out. My biggest problem was the hotel restaurant. Breakfast & dinner was a fiasco! We never did get served breakfast (no one acknowledged us), & for dinner we decided to pair up w/complete strangers to get a table because the wait was so long! They had plenty of open tables, but no staff to wait them. What hotel restaurant doesn't fully staff their restaurant when the hotel sells out for a convention? This hotel was just so average & below for me, I think next convention I'll stay a few doors down...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crown Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear DLEHMAN230,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are delighted to know that the hotel offered you points as compensation for the inconveniences you have encountered. Nevertheless, we have taken note of your feedback and assure you that proper measures will be taken to improve the quality of service we offer.

We hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the future

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford, Michigan, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for HorrorHound Weekend. We checked in and the check on process went good. When we got to the room they gave us it was a king bed and with there being three of us that wasn't going to work so we called the front desk about it they said they would bring us new keys for a different room. It took they about 20 minutes to get the new keys and room. When we got to the new room it was SO hot in there but we didn't think anything of it because we were in a hurry to get over to the convention. When we got back to the room around midnight our room was so cold and the heat was set to 79 and was not coming on. We tried to change the temperature and the thermostat fell off the wall. We went down to the lobby to see what was going on there and before we went back to the room we complained about the heat and they said they would call maintenance about an hour and a half later around 2am someone finally showed up to fix it. On Saturday we tried to have breakfast in the restaurant we waited 10 minutes to be seated before the General Manager seated us. We sat at the table for 20 minutes and watch the waitresses walk past us about 8 times before i finally said something about it. The guy that was sitting behind us was one of the actors from The Walking Dead and he had to keep asking for syrup for his waffle and the finally someone else went to the kitchen to ask they for his syrup he finally got his syrup about 20 minutes later. After we ate I went in to the lobby bathroom before heading over to the convention and it was disgusting in there. When we got back from the convention we headed back to the room and our keys didn't work so we had to walk back to the front desk to get new keys and my boyfriend is handicapped so this was hard on him after walking the convention all day. I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crown Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Angela M,

Thank you for the detailed review of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am disappointed to read that this recent visit was a disappointment due to the condition of the room you were given and maintenance levels on premises. Thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention as this is our best means of improving our efforts.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 11320 Chester Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45246 (Formerly CoCo Key Water Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel features free Wi-Fi and an on-site restaurant and lounge. The Cincinnati Premium Outlets are 25.7 km away. A flat-screen cable TV and air conditioning are provided in each room at Crown Hotel and Conference Center. A coffee machine and a work desk are also included. Private bathrooms are equipped with a hairdryer and free toiletries. The hotel features a 24-hour front desk and a lounge. Other facilities offered include dry cleaning. Tradewinds Restaurant is located in the lobby at the Cincinnati Crown Hotel and Conference Center and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Kings Island Amusement Park is 24.1 km from the hotel. The Cincinnati Art Museum is 25 minutes' drive away. The property offers free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crown Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Cincinnati North
Cincinnati Sheraton
Crown Hotel And Conference Center Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.