We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carew Tower

Carew Tower
441 Vine St., Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, Cincinnati, OH 45202
513 241 3888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 189 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Newport, Kentucky
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great city views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went to the top of the Carew Tower at the advice of our neighbor. He aslo wanted us to see the Art Deco style of the building itself. The ride to the top was quick, but the elevator up the final five floors to the stairs was a little claustrophobic. The admission price for adults was just $2.00. We loved it because we could identify places we have come to know since moving here last November. However, after some discussion, we felt that there should have been some type of placques on each wall indicating points of interest in Cincinnati such as the Music Hall, stadiums, and universities. If you are not from the area, you might not know what you are actually viewing. We also thought there should have been some pretty summer plantings on the rooftop. It would have made it so much nicer.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    80
    19
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Highland Heights, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Closed during business hours”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Carew tower observation deck was one of the items on our to do list on our Cincinnati visit. We made certain choices like staying at a more expensive hotel, etc. It is supposed to open at 10:00AM on Sunday. After enduring a claustrophobic rickety old elevator to get to a staircase in need of a good cleaning that leads to the observation deck it was closed. So we descended the dirty stairs. The rickety lift to the 45th floor and down. If you want to open at 10:15 or 10:30 fine but be open during the published hours.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice and Fast Sightseeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went on a Sunday afternoon and there wasn't any line. It's not the easiest to find, but there's a security/info desk located at the bottom so just ask. You take the elevators to the 45th floor, then get on a separate elevator or take the stairs the rest of the way, about another 4 flights. $2 per person fee, then you just walk out onto the open roof. Great views of the city and the surrounding area. Probably will take 30 minutes max., it's cheap, and a great sight. Would recommend!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Heart of history in cincinnati, very classy establishment enriched in old school style. Architecture is beautiful and romantic to the eyes. Plus very good views from the tower of a very beautiful city at night or day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It's not well signposted but well worth the effort to seek out this place. $2 gets you the whole city at your feet. Amazing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carew Tower also viewed

 

Been to Carew Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carew Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.