We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carew Tower

Carew Tower
441 Vine St., Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, Cincinnati, OH 45202
513 241 3888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 194 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newport, Kentucky
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great city views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went to the top of the Carew Tower at the advice of our neighbor. He aslo wanted us to see the Art Deco style of the building itself. The ride to the top was quick, but the elevator up the final five floors to the stairs was a little claustrophobic. The admission price for adults was just $2.00. We loved it because we could identify places we have come to know since moving here last November. However, after some discussion, we felt that there should have been some type of placques on each wall indicating points of interest in Cincinnati such as the Music Hall, stadiums, and universities. If you are not from the area, you might not know what you are actually viewing. We also thought there should have been some pretty summer plantings on the rooftop. It would have made it so much nicer.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    86
    21
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Highland Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Closed during business hours”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Carew tower observation deck was one of the items on our to do list on our Cincinnati visit. We made certain choices like staying at a more expensive hotel, etc. It is supposed to open at 10:00AM on Sunday. After enduring a claustrophobic rickety old elevator to get to a staircase in need of a good cleaning that leads to the observation deck it was closed. So we descended the dirty stairs. The rickety lift to the 45th floor and down. If you want to open at 10:15 or 10:30 fine but be open during the published hours.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice and Fast Sightseeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went on a Sunday afternoon and there wasn't any line. It's not the easiest to find, but there's a security/info desk located at the bottom so just ask. You take the elevators to the 45th floor, then get on a separate elevator or take the stairs the rest of the way, about another 4 flights. $2 per person fee, then you just walk out onto the open roof. Great views of the city and the surrounding area. Probably will take 30 minutes max., it's cheap, and a great sight. Would recommend!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
282 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Heart of history in cincinnati, very classy establishment enriched in old school style. Architecture is beautiful and romantic to the eyes. Plus very good views from the tower of a very beautiful city at night or day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It's not well signposted but well worth the effort to seek out this place. $2 gets you the whole city at your feet. Amazing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carew Tower also viewed

 

Been to Carew Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carew Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.