We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty bbq in Ohio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smokey Bones - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smokey Bones
509 Ohio Pike, Cincinnati, OH 45255
513-528-1725
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
WALLED LAKE
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty bbq in Ohio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

On our way to Florida, we stopped here for lunch. Having eaten at the Dayton location in the past, we knew we could get a good meal. We weren't disappointed. The lunch special for $7.99 was perfect - bbq pulled pork with 2 sides. We chose baked beans & coleslaw. Everything was delicious. We enjoyed the different bbq sauces they offer. We're just sorry there isn't a Smokey Bones closer to home - they have a great looking menu & we'd love to try other things.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite casual restaurant in Anderson Twp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great service and will alter the entrees to accommodate my dietary needs. Also love the mini desserts! Just enough to satisfy my sweet tooth without packing on lots of calories. :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Quality going downhill from what USED to be good food...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We live near Smokey Bones on Beechmont, and have eaten there and ordered takeout many times over the last 5-6 years. Nice atmosphere, but he quality of the food has been going downhill the last couple of years as I assume they try to go cheap on both product and ingredients. They used to have really good wings but the batches we got last night and last month were to the point that even my teenage son walked away from it. Everything tasted old and cheap, like it had been reheated a number of times. The barbecue beans used to be fantastic, now they are pasty and are as if they came from an outdated can. Had a couple of mixed drinks($7) at the bar while waiting on the takeout and they were very watered down and the mixer used was very stale. And, all the food had WAY too much salt on it, like they are trying to stretch it out even further. Too bad, I doubt the place stays in business much longer if they are going to serve food that doesn't even qualify for Applebee's. What a shame...

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Too too”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I like barbecue places, visit a lot of them. Really want to thumbs up this place, just can't. Everything was just over the top. Had a combo plate of beef brisket and pulled pork. Beef was 40% fat, rest really tasteless, should have sent it back. Pork was ok, but 4 sauces offered were all over the top: too sweet, too hot, etc. Cole slaw was creamy, sweet. Baked beans were way too sugary. Fire-grilled corn was tasteless.
Really nice facility, parking easy, many handicap spaces. Solid decor, large space, but music way too loud for a 4:00 pm meal. Managers visited, but how do you tell someone "Please change most everything"? They seem to be doing well, observed repeat guests greeted. Two new servers being trained.
May be your taste, but not mine. Try elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
148 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Should be "Slowly Bones"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Went to SB one evening around 7:30. Fair sized crowd and whether someone quit or what, there only appeared to be 3 servers and 1 of those was doing double duty as the host. We ordered drinks and a relatively simple dinner--burgers & fries. Well, gee, you'd have thought they had to go slaughter the cow! It took over an hour for our burgers to appear. And we were not the only ones who were "lingering" over dinner. In all fairness, the burgers were good, but I would never go here again if I had somewhere else I had to be after dining.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey Bones also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokey Bones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.