We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant not as good as it used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cumin Eclectic Cuisine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cumin Eclectic Cuisine
3520 Erie Avenue, Cincinnati, OH 45208 (Hyde Park)
513.871.8714
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cumin Eclectic Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #216 of 1,721 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Eclectic, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Hyde Park
cincinnati
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Restaurant not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Last week was my wife's birthday and she chose Cumin for dinner to celebrate. A few years ago we had a wonderful dinner of Indian dishes at Cumin. We were aware the menu had changed but thought it would be high quality. It was mediocre. My wife had salmon that was overcooked and I had Paella which was mostly rice and not particularly tasty. It is relatively pricy for the quality of the good. Our server was god and the atmosphere continues to be fine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    23
    11
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Borderline horrendous”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Apparently there was some sort of
"Computer problem" when we were there tonight, but it took a full 90 minutes for our entrees - which were tasty but extremely pedestrian - to arrive. After asking for the entrees to be comped, for the delay, which they were, all would have been forgiven until the owner came over and basically chewed us out. We will never return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Flavors didn't quite mesh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We recently had a 3 course tasting menu here. The courses sounded great: a caprese salad, Mediterranean lamb with a veg bake and for the vegetarian in our party a deconstructed succotash, and a tuna tartare. Presentation was beautiful but the flavors just didn't integrate. The wine list is impressive and there are some very nice half bottle options. We had a great Andre Brunel chateauneuf du Pape 2007. Great bottle. We also got a nice complimentary dessert - a passion fruit soup with crime caramel in the middle with a generous half glass of rosé. Nice touch. We have had good meals here before so I would certainly give this place another chance. Maybe just an off night?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We almost left (thought it was still Indian)...glad we stayed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We lived in Hyde Park years ago, when Cumin was an Indian restaurant. I was in the mood for Indian, so hubby suggested Cumin. When we got there, the menu was very clearly NOT Indian and we were disappointed. "Should we leave?" "No, I can find something on the menu, let's just stay."

Boy, I'm so glad we stayed! The food was eclectic, seasonal, and superb! I felt like I was living an episode of Top Chef! I had the beet salad (yum) and he had the compressed watermelon (weird, yet tasty). We shared the scallop (silky and subtle) and I had the ahi tuna ceviche (bright and pungent...didn't share much...mine, mine, mine!) Hubby ordered the sous-vide chicken with fried green tomatoes. That one was not our favorite.

I can't think of anywhere else in Cincinnati where you can find food like this. I once went to Jean Robert for my birthday and I think I enjoyed my meal at Cumin just as much. So pleased that we decided to stay. We'll be back for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Trendy but relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Cumin has a trendy fusion menu that delivers high-quality food without being snobby. My husband and I met friends for dinner on a weeknight and were drooling over everything. The menu is split into 3 courses and we had a terrible time choosing what we wanted as everything sounded so wonderful. The on-line menu gives a good example of the type of food available, but it changes frequently, so don’t expect what is listed to be exactly what is offered. I had the rabbit for course 3 and it was joyfully tender.

The staff were very professional and were patient with different members of our party showing up at different times, but that may not be true on a busy weekend. My only criticism is that with all of the wonderful food offered for the main meal, the deserts were a little on the boring side. No one had that eye-popping “WOW” reaction for desert that every last one of us did with the rest of our food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cumin Eclectic Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Cumin Eclectic Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumin Eclectic Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.