We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My son's (age 16) review of Skyline” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Chili

Skyline Chili
643 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2408 (Central Business District)
(513) 241-2020
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 1,721 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My son's (age 16) review of Skyline”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

So, today I ate at yet another of my favorite regional chains: Skyline Chili. There, I had their trademark Cheese Coney, which is rather difficult to make out under all that cheese. The premise is simple. Our main cast, the cheese, the chili, and the hot dog all gather together inside the bun, which sounds like a tale as old as time. Suddenly, the story sees a twist worthy of Shaymalan in the form of the chili's secret recipe, which is sure to titillate your taste buds. Combined with the shocking amount of cheese piled on top that's sure to end messily, this is an Ohio-only delicacy that shouldn't be missed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    180
    77
    44
    17
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
gainesville,ga
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun place, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We're pretty easy going on food, we don't like fancy schmancy so this was right up our alley. We visited Cincy and our friends took us to Skyline before we could unpack. We went to a few of the upper end restaurants but this was probably our favorite place. Everyone there was exceptionally nice. will go again on our next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, MO
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not your typical chili”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

When we stayed near Cincinnati, everyone recommended Skyline chili. The restaurant we visited was clean and in good shape. The chili is totally different than anything I have ever had. In a group of 4 we tried the hotdogs, nachos and chili. None of us liked any of it. It is sweet and hard to explain. Try if you want but don't expect a spicy chili.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Try it, you'll like it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

When people try to describe Skyline Chili, an iconic Cincinnati dining experience, they tend to do a bad job of it. But tasting is believing! The concoction of spaghetti and a sauce that is a cross between Mediterranean style spaghetti sauce and chili, all covered in grated cheese, is really pretty tasty. It's great for lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Memories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I've been eating this since I was a kid. I live in Tennesee now. When I go back, I always make my way to skyline. My adult children love it, as well! My Brazilian wife likes it, too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Chili also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Skyline Chili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Chili, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.