We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family owned Italian- a delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Luna Restaurant

Bella Luna Restaurant
4632 Eastern Ave, Cincinnati, OH 45226
(513) 871-5862
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bella Luna Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 1,750 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Beechmont
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Family owned Italian- a delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Authentic, family recipes, ingredients fresh and flavorful, wonderful variety of offerings, and a wine list that is extensive...all this equals a new favorite family Italian restaurant in Cincinnati!
Wines are just $10 over their costs...where have you had that offer before? Our different entrees- all outstanding- scallops, prime rib cannelloni, lobster crab pasta , with the osso buco succulent - falling off the bone, and top notch service to match. All service personnel so very friendly and accomodating. The owners walking around and asking if all expectations met. Costs so reasonable, with generous servings, that we now have an expectation that will only be fulfilled by returning to Bella Luna again. Grateful to the Stephens family for keeping the food and service standards so high, and for maintaining the warm, famlily(menu has their family pictures to welcome your family) charm that welcomes the diner. Would suggest reservations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    25
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and the best bread pudding I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

While visiting my daughter in cincinatti, we visited Bella Luna. The food was outstanding and the service even better. My wife, daughter & I all got separate dishes so we could try them all. What can I say, they were all outstanding. After dinner my daughter insisted we order the bread pudding. I told her that I didn't like bread pudding and had never liked it, my wife was the same way. She reassured us we would like it. Well our server brought it to the table & I reluctantly tried it. All I could say was WOW!!! It was hands down the best desert I've ever had. I am now officially a bread pudding guy. This is a very nice resturaunt, with outstanding service & great food. It's also locally owned which is very important. Support small business, it's the backbone of america!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Family run Italian good but not exceptional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Excellent hot bread with garlic butter cup and oil & balsamic plate. Calamari is unusual, like a sauce, spicy and flavorful, good for sopping up with bread. Excellent bottle of Louis Martini Cabernet Savignion for $25. House salads are good. Pollo Florinto for $18.99 was essentially fettuccine alfredo with two small chicken medallions on top. I would have added mushrooms and sun dried tomatos to make it more interesting. Prime Rib Canelloni was excellent according to my wife, Canelloni stuffed with cheese and slow cooked, shredded prime rib. Nice atmosphere for lovers, dark and intimate in a very old building. Parking lot is convenient but unpaved and unlined so people park everywhere and a lot of space goes unused so it is difficult to find a space. Enjoyable but not exceptional restaurant with very good service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Bella Luna is a very good Italian restaurant in a fun, quirky and off the beaten path location. The menu had some interesting surprises along with Italian classics. My wife especially enjoyed the eggplant lasagna, which replaces the pasta normally found in lasagna with eggplant. This was a great creative twist on "regular" lasagna (which they also have). Our server was terrific and knowledgable about the food and wine choices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Great service and fantastic food in a funky resturant. The live music in the bar was a cool as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Luna Restaurant also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Bella Luna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Luna Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.