We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks, service... suspect wine list” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlo & Johnny

Carlo & Johnny
9769 Montgomery Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45242-7215
513-936-8600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carlo & Johnny is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 1,749 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Following the Jeff Ruby tradition of fine dining in unique settings is Carlo & Johnny. This beautiful mansion has a storied history as a casino and Mafia hangout, adorned with antiques and unique appointments. As for the menu, it's in keeping with the Jeff Ruby tradition; delicious, innovative, and out-of-this-world. And with 15 steaks, it's Ruby's most comprehensive menu ever. The old Hollywood glamour and delicious cuisine promise a meal and experience to remember.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Great steaks, service... suspect wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I go to C&J every time i am in town, usually twice a year. Went last night, terrific bone in Ribeye, excellent service. The one issue i have with C&J is availability of wines vs what they advertise on their wine list. As has happened in my previous visits, I ordered a bottle off the list, sommelier disappears comes back and says " we just sold the last bottle." Ok fine, i order another bottle, this time a Napa Cab 2007. He disappears again, comes back minutes later, presents the bottle. It is a 2008 not a 2007, a less desirable vintage. He does not say we do not have the 2007, but simply puts forth the 2008 hoping i don't notice or care. Same experience as my previous visits.

Ruby's boasts on its website that they are one of six Ohio restaurants to receive Wine Spectators Award of excellence for their wine selection. See WS August 2014 issue. WS rates restaurants on wine price mark up amongst other things. Ruby's is rated as "Expensive" and patrons cannot bring wine in for a corkage fee. My point for bringing this up is that if you can't bring your own wine and wine mark ups are high, they should at least have available what they advertise on their wine list.

One last point. As many of you wine drinkers know, the wine glass makes a big difference. For being an upmarket restaurant with an expensive wine list, Ruby's wine glasses are of low quality. One would think for what they charge for wine, they could afford to offer Riedel glasses.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    29
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Jeff Ruby did it again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Mr. Ruby, you did it again. We love eating at your other restaurants, but this is our 1st time at Carlo and Johnny's, the food was so good. We had the pleasure of having an employee who has worked for you for 17 years, he made our evening magical! As beautiful as you restaurant is, we chose to eat outside, it was a beautiful evening. We plan on coming back, a little later next time, so we can enjoy you outdoor lights. You never disappoint, we love all of your restaurants, and you staff is "Great". We will be back. Bob and Jill

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth - with atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This restaurant was really terrific. Service, atmosphere and the most omprtant...the food!! The queen filet mignon was melt in your mouth delicious....and just the right size for me. Their mashed potatoes are positively sinful....a must have. This is a quintessential chop house....classic Americana with class!! Treat yourself and enjoy.....we only live once.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Everything was good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I've been fortunate enough to have been to some very good steakhouses including chains like Morton's, Ruth Chris, and the Capitol Grille and none of them ever compare with a Jeff Ruby restaurant. Carlo and Johnny is no exception. We ordered short rib ravioli, larger than life tiger shrimp of the raw bar, the always exception freddy salad, and the NY Strip with Collinsworth topping. It was all phenomenal. I definitely would recommend this place for any kind of special celebration. Of course, to save a little money the best value of all the Ruby restaurants continues to be the Precinct. But you will not be disappointed by anything here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We go to Carlo and Johnny's every year for our anniversary. We have also had large family gatherings here, and they took care of the large party just as well! We have also taken our son with us, and have not experienced any issues there either.
Overall, the price is expensive but worth it! All food is cooked exactly as you order it. The steaks are delicious and do not need any additional seasoning or sauce.
All of the vegetables are ordered separately, and come in a size meant to share. We normally only order two and always have leftovers!
The atmosphere is perfect, with dim lighting and intimate tables. The staff is superb and goes above and beyond every time!
We highly recommend Carlo and Johnny.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlo & Johnny also viewed

 

Been to Carlo & Johnny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlo & Johnny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.