We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party at a gangster's mansion.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlo & Johnny

Carlo & Johnny
9769 Montgomery Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45242-7215
513-936-8600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carlo & Johnny is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,729 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Following the Jeff Ruby tradition of fine dining in unique settings is Carlo & Johnny. This beautiful mansion has a storied history as a casino and Mafia hangout, adorned with antiques and unique appointments. As for the menu, it's in keeping with the Jeff Ruby tradition; delicious, innovative, and out-of-this-world. And with 15 steaks, it's Ruby's most comprehensive menu ever. The old Hollywood glamour and delicious cuisine promise a meal and experience to remember.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Party at a gangster's mansion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Live music, warm atmosphere, excellent service, out of this world amazing food. What else could you wish for?! If you love fresh oysters, then this is the place to go.
Now, it's not moderately priced by any means. For me and my husband it ended up being about $200 for oysters, steak entrees, extra side and two glasses of wine. But it was worth every bit of it! Service is amazing, and i, personally, love the decor: feels like you're in a luxury casino back in the day, when it was a luxury:-)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    79
    27
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not cheap, but very very good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Had a memorable meal. Everything was perfect. Worth it. Simple but excellent preparation. Great for an important business dinner.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice for Date Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was our first time at any of Jeff Ruby's steakhouses. Since we do not live in the Cincinnati area, we typically dine at Ruth's Chris for special occasions. However, we LOVED the drive up to the restaurant, you could see the nostalgia of the restaurant itself. The older-decor was perfect, along with the big-band music playing in the background. Our server was efficient and well-knowledgeable about the menu. The appetizer (crab cake) and both of our salads were outstanding. We also liked the mushroom-truffle butter that came with the bread basket.

My husband and I both chose steaks that came with sauces. Maybe that was our mistake. We were both disappointed with the flavor as it was too overpowering. My steak was overcooked for medium. Jeff Ruby chooses a more crisp outside of the steak whereas Ruth's Chris has more of a "melt-in-your-mouth" tenderness due to the sizzling butter plates, so maybe we were just not ready for a change.

Would we dine here again? Most likely, but definitely plain filets so we can fully enjoy the flavor of the steak.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The steaks are amazing, as are the sides and salads. Get the Freddie salad- AMAZING! Desserts are great too. The decor/atmosphere is a little stuffy, but if you can take it - the food is worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville,Oh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very mixed bag.........ultimately not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I had dinner tonight at Carlo and Johnny in Montgomery Ohio. The positives: The building, ambiance and service were top notch, the food was not. We have been to expensive restaurants on many occassions, so I am certainly not complaining about sticker shock. The prices are in line with other places such as Morton's or Ruth's Chris, however we ordered an appetizer combination from the raw bar upon recommendation of our waiter: $ 31.50 for one crab leg and $ 10.00 for two shrimps???? We paid $42 bucks for one crab leg and two shrimps, completely absurd!!! By far the best thing we ordered from the raw bar was the scallops civiche, best part of the entire meal actually, only $ 11 dollars and enough to share.
My wife ordered the queen filet medium well, it was completely well done not a hint of pink and dry, my medium rare was medium at best. How does a high end steakhouse not even cook steaks properly? The signiture "freddie salad" was ok but nothing special. The sides of au gratin potatoes and mushrooms were ok.

This was our first time and probably our last to this restaurant, sorry, we have never had a steak prepared overdone at Morton's or Ruth's Chris or Eddie Merlot's. When your bill adds up to $200.00 for a special dinner, The meal should be prepared correctly, and the raw bar prices are absurd.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlo & Johnny also viewed

 

Been to Carlo & Johnny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlo & Johnny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.