We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlo & Johnny

Carlo & Johnny
9769 Montgomery Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45242-7215
513-936-8600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carlo & Johnny is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,657 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Following the Jeff Ruby tradition of fine dining in unique settings is Carlo & Johnny. This beautiful mansion has a storied history as a casino and Mafia hangout, adorned with antiques and unique appointments. As for the menu, it's in keeping with the Jeff Ruby tradition; delicious, innovative, and out-of-this-world. And with 15 steaks, it's Ruby's most comprehensive menu ever. The old Hollywood glamour and delicious cuisine promise a meal and experience to remember.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The steaks are amazing, as are the sides and salads. Get the Freddie salad- AMAZING! Desserts are great too. The decor/atmosphere is a little stuffy, but if you can take it - the food is worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    31
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville,Oh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very mixed bag.........ultimately not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I had dinner tonight at Carlo and Johnny in Montgomery Ohio. The positives: The building, ambiance and service were top notch, the food was not. We have been to expensive restaurants on many occassions, so I am certainly not complaining about sticker shock. The prices are in line with other places such as Morton's or Ruth's Chris, however we ordered an appetizer combination from the raw bar upon recommendation of our waiter: $ 31.50 for one crab leg and $ 10.00 for two shrimps???? We paid $42 bucks for one crab leg and two shrimps, completely absurd!!! By far the best thing we ordered from the raw bar was the scallops civiche, best part of the entire meal actually, only $ 11 dollars and enough to share.
My wife ordered the queen filet medium well, it was completely well done not a hint of pink and dry, my medium rare was medium at best. How does a high end steakhouse not even cook steaks properly? The signiture "freddie salad" was ok but nothing special. The sides of au gratin potatoes and mushrooms were ok.

This was our first time and probably our last to this restaurant, sorry, we have never had a steak prepared overdone at Morton's or Ruth's Chris or Eddie Merlot's. When your bill adds up to $200.00 for a special dinner, The meal should be prepared correctly, and the raw bar prices are absurd.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing steak.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Went for a business dinner, great place. I had the Cowboy and it was the best steak I've ever had. Their sides are also really good, the wild mushrooms were great with the steak. Seafood appetizer was also awesome. Excellent service, knowledgeable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Sumptuous Steaks, brilliant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

When in Cincinnati, we can not wait to go for a stunning dinner. The steaks are perfectly aged and seasoned and cooked to perfection. We always order the Queen size filet mingnon and then share sides ( the sides easily feed 2-3 people, this last time we shared three sides between 4 people and it was perfect).
You can go overboard. They offer to put together a lovely assortment of crab legs, shrimp, oysters, etc. This is when the bill gets expensive, but it is great food.
I save myself for the steak and sides, time to time some shrimp or possibly a dessert, which is stunning too. The salads are good, but I would rather save room for something else.
I find the filet, sides, bread, and a good bottle of wine more than enough, same with my husband. Excellent quality and service, priced appropriately.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Went here for the first time Saturday night & was not dissapointed. Been to other Jeff Ruby Restaurants and this one stood up to it's reputation also. Impeccable service second to none. I love how you don't have to ask for anything like refills, butter, napkins..anything! They are always at your service without bothering you or constantly asking if you are ok. The Servers just do their jobs very well! Food is delicious! It is all ale carte however, so everything is seperate, but worth it if you are prepared to spend & want a great steak & fantastic service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlo & Johnny also viewed

 

Been to Carlo & Johnny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlo & Johnny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.