We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing steak.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlo & Johnny

Carlo & Johnny
9769 Montgomery Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45242-7215
513-936-8600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carlo & Johnny is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 1,724 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Following the Jeff Ruby tradition of fine dining in unique settings is Carlo & Johnny. This beautiful mansion has a storied history as a casino and Mafia hangout, adorned with antiques and unique appointments. As for the menu, it's in keeping with the Jeff Ruby tradition; delicious, innovative, and out-of-this-world. And with 15 steaks, it's Ruby's most comprehensive menu ever. The old Hollywood glamour and delicious cuisine promise a meal and experience to remember.
Mason, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing steak.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Went for a business dinner, great place. I had the Cowboy and it was the best steak I've ever had. Their sides are also really good, the wild mushrooms were great with the steak. Seafood appetizer was also awesome. Excellent service, knowledgeable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    27
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Sumptuous Steaks, brilliant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

When in Cincinnati, we can not wait to go for a stunning dinner. The steaks are perfectly aged and seasoned and cooked to perfection. We always order the Queen size filet mingnon and then share sides ( the sides easily feed 2-3 people, this last time we shared three sides between 4 people and it was perfect).
You can go overboard. They offer to put together a lovely assortment of crab legs, shrimp, oysters, etc. This is when the bill gets expensive, but it is great food.
I save myself for the steak and sides, time to time some shrimp or possibly a dessert, which is stunning too. The salads are good, but I would rather save room for something else.
I find the filet, sides, bread, and a good bottle of wine more than enough, same with my husband. Excellent quality and service, priced appropriately.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Went here for the first time Saturday night & was not dissapointed. Been to other Jeff Ruby Restaurants and this one stood up to it's reputation also. Impeccable service second to none. I love how you don't have to ask for anything like refills, butter, napkins..anything! They are always at your service without bothering you or constantly asking if you are ok. The Servers just do their jobs very well! Food is delicious! It is all ale carte however, so everything is seperate, but worth it if you are prepared to spend & want a great steak & fantastic service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place for Your Next Event!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We reserved the Fireplace Room for our rehearsal dinner for our son and soon-to-be daughter in law. Every aspect of the event, from the planning to the last cup of coffee was a great experience. We were from out of town and the Sales Manager patiently explained our options and help us plan. He was a great listener and advised us on what we needed without overselling.

The room accommodated our party of 30 (including some small children) easily, with plenty of "mingle room" and a convenient bar arrangement. The two waitstaff were excellent and took care of our guests throughout the evening. The food was top shelf in appropriate portions.

If you're looking for a special place for a similar event and don't need to be downtown, I heartily endorse Carlos & Johnny.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“" The best service I ever experienced at a restaurant." Pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were catered to at this restaurant like no other restaurant I have every been too.
The servers were constantly at your side, filling water glasses, offering warm towels between appetizer and main course. Constantly checking to see if you were satisfied with your meal and experience. We were served our meal in "lightning fast" time. We both ordered the special which consisted on fillet mignon, lobster tail, mashed potatoes, asparagus, and pistachio ice cream. the steak was tender and cooked to perfection. The lobster tail was small and a little on the dry-side,
but your in the Midwest where ocean fare is never at the same standard as on the coast.
the asparagus was delicious, however the mashed potatoes tasted like they could have come from a box
( would have preferred smashed potatoes.) The pistachio ice cream was absolutely delicious, with many pieces of pistachios in the ice cream. We enjoyed are over-all experience at Carlo and Johnny. It is pricey for what you get, but the service is impeccable!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlo & Johnny also viewed

 

Been to Carlo & Johnny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlo & Johnny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.