We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Restaurant

Iron Horse Restaurant
40 Village Sq, Cincinnati, OH 45246
513-772-3333
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #540 of 1,700 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sharon Road
Description: This historic yet stylish and sophisticated spot overlooking the Village Square in Glendale serves New American cuisine and continental classics. Open since 1856, this landmark has patio seating, two floors of dining, live music Tuesday through Saturday, private party rooms, and so much more!The Iron Horse serves lunch Tuesday through Friday, and dinner Tuesday through Saturday, as well as a delicious Sunday brunch. An ideal spot for romantic dinners, large groups, business meetings, groups of friends, happy hour gatherings, and family celebrations.Stop by to meet new Executive Chef Ernesto Luna and try some wines from our extensive wine and beer lists.
cincinnati
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely and cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I love this restaurant. The food is wonderful but the atmosphere is even better. We go there not only to have a great dinner but to relax and smile. The upstairs (The Rail) is great for casual evenings and a little music but wish they would open the upstairs a little earlier (7:00 PM).
Charming village surroundings usually inspire a stroll too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    5
    9
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunch ala patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Had to do a business lunch near Sharonville and had remembered the Iron Horse from 15 years ago. The place has changed considerably- with everything looking brand new. Glendale is a very picturesque little village- with some nice shops- and a train track that is RIGHT next to the restaurant (hence the name). Other than being interrupted by overzealous train whistles every 10-15 minutes- our two hour lunch on the patio was perfect. Service was outstanding- I think the server was named Danny- very experienced, my water glass never emptied.
I tried the Tomato Bisque with the Rocket Salad- two of their "signature items" and was very happy- the bisque was slightly chunkier than what others have been serving- making it feel a little heartier. You could feel the tomatoes in it. The salad was very nice as well. My guest had the Antipasto wrap- which I also tried- very tasty. But- the real hands down winner were the fries- thick, square hand cut with a crispy outside and well cooked inside. Made me want to break my diet and eat a burger with them.
The bathrooms are upstairs (they have an elevator if you need it) and the mens room was spotless. Looking into the upstairs dining room/bar- with the open truss ceilings- it looked like an incredible place for a banquet- or reception. They also had a private room off to the side that looked like it could seat 30. They weren't using it at lunch- making me want to come back for dinner and check it out.
There is plenty of parking near the patio- or through a driveway that you might miss at first- and then a big lot "across the tracks"
Turns out the restaurant's owner also owns the small boutique hotel called "The Glendalia" a block away- making this sort of a Dinner and Bed option- for a nice getaway (the restaurant doesn't do breakfast). My guest said she'd wished she'd known about this for her wedding reception.
I'll be back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, mi
Top Contributor
654 reviews 654 reviews
443 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Good food near the tracks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

There is a good chance a train or two will pass by while eating at the Iron Horse. Great if you are a trainspotter, not great if you are meeting someone for a dinner appointment.

The food is good, not excellant, not bad. The prices are honest, not outrageous nor cheap.

I've posted a few photos of the food and building exterior.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed my dinner. Very flavorful soup (butternut squash bisque). Warm sliced bread from Baguettes. Really enjoyed the Penne uBriache, which was a al dente cooked penne in a brandy cream sauce with ground sausage.

Service was attentive. Finally, had soft finger style guitar by Tom Laskey in the background through the meal.

Definitely Will return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
2 reviews
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We enjoyed delicious, unusual gourmet food and excellent service. The cheerful staff was also extremely careful working around our food restrictions. Definitely worth a detour.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Horse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Iron Horse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.