We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always consistent and very friendly staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J. Alexander's Restaurant

J. Alexander's Restaurant
2629 Edmondson Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45209-1910
513-531-7495
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
J. Alexander's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 1,782 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy. 71 in Rookwood Commons
Kentucky
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Always consistent and very friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Our reservation was for 7:45 and they seated us immediately. A lot of restaurants aren't like that, even with a reservation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    18
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“J Alexander”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Love going here even though it is a bit pricier. My favorite is the thai salad. All their food and service is consistent and great. Love love the carrot cake which is served warm and melts in your mouth. I always get one to go too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lives up to it's standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have eaten at J Alexanders before but never in Cincinnati. This one was as good as the other we have been at. We were looking for something relatively quick and dependable and this fit the bill. Our server was very knowledgeable and attentive. The food was hot when it arrived and tasty. For a chain type restaurant J Alex is a step up from a lot of the others

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“GREAT NEIGHBORHOOD RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have always counted on J Alexander being very consistent and reliable. The food is good and quick. Salads are large and delicious. the bar area is large and fun. Price is very reasonable.
This is a restaurant this we have visited regularly through the years.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Too much salt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I visited this restaurant two times in quick succession. The first occasion was lunch with a friend, and I had a fantastic thai beef salad. The use of spices was brave for the US, I was really impressed. The next visit was with family, and I chose fish, served with fries. The fries were so covered in salt, they ruined the whole meal. How can a restaurant get the complex seasoning on a thai salad correct, and then ruin another meal with such heavy handed salting? Perhaps the salting of the fries is left to a lower qualified person in the kitchen?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J. Alexander's Restaurant also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to J. Alexander's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J. Alexander's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.