We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice All-American Cusine Modern Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J. Alexander's Restaurant

J. Alexander's Restaurant
2629 Edmondson Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45209-1910
513-531-7495
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
J. Alexander's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,728 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy. 71 in Rookwood Commons
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice All-American Cusine Modern Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have dined at here many times, both for lunch and dinner, with consistently high food quality service. I enjoy the grilled chicken (with bones); very nice flavor and tender. Another favorite is the steak salad; the salad is fresh and the steak is hot. It is a perfect place for family or business. At lunch, there are always a lot of business diners, so I suggest a reservation. Dinner always seems to pack in the crowds, so a reservation is also suggested. Service has always been excellent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    15
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

A little pricey. I got the Rotisserie chicken and my husband got a steak of some sort. It was a nice dinner, but cost around $60? We both got salads too. I just think that there could've been a better place to eat for that price? idk...maybe i just wasn't feeling it that night?

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and solid service makes this a good choice for business or pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We met clients here and enjoyed both the food and the service. All the salads are excellent - and my crab cakes and orzo & wild rice (cold) salad was very tasty (it had dried cranberries in the salad as well). We arrived with a large party of eight and the wait staff was patient and accommodating since the largest table they seem to have in the restaurant are round tops for 6 people. We were shown to a side booth and chairs were added -- perfect fit and the response to the initial seating dilemma was quick and courteous. I would definitely go back with customers or family.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Our Favorite for Years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This restaurant has been at the top of its game for years. Great wait staff who are well trained, ambiance appropriate, and food well prepared. Our favorite is the rib dinner, although with the menus change, I really miss the tequila baked beans.
Hamburgers and grilled chicken sandwich are very good, and prime rib sandwich is excellent.
Key Lime pie usually goes home each visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Not as great athmosphere like Morton's but its good. Service is okay - could be better. Food is good though.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J. Alexander's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to J. Alexander's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J. Alexander's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.