We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite places for date night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
11023 Montgomery Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45249-2306
513-530-5501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #91 of 1,723 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places for date night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My husband and I eat at The Melting Pot a couple times per year and love it. Yes, it is a little pricey, but it is a great place to go for a special occasion. If you sign up online for emails, they send special offers, events, etc. We have never had a bad experience here and the food is yummy. Yes, you cook your own food, but if you can't handle throwing raw food in a pot and letting it sit for two minutes, then you're just plain lazy. The meats are fresh and high quality. We love the Caesar salads and the chocolate "turtle" fondue for dessert. Several menu items to choose from, service is great, and I'd recommend the place to anyone. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    25
    8
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worst experience Ever. Stay away. Staff is clueless”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

What can I say. We had reservations for 8 for a very special New Years dinner. When we arrived they denied us a table even though I reserved 4 weeks ahead of time. Management said there was no record. Their loss. We were going to spend $150 per couple. Went to another restaurant and had a blast. What was most disturbing is management did nothing to make things right. I was embarrased for my wife and the 3 couples that joined us.. The hostess staff is incompetent and deceptive. Poor atmoshere. Stay away.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good but too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Food is good, particularly the desserts. Considering you're doing all the cooking it's pretty expensive for what it is (raw meat & veggies and hot oil)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful night for a couple.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I eat here abou every two months. It's a great change from the traditional restaurants. Canal ahead to find out what the seasonal special menu is.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good and plenty of food. Fun for couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I love Melting Pot. I think it makes a fun date night. It takes a good hour or two to eat if you take your time and get the Big Night Out. The service is always good. Our fav cheese selection is the fiesta cheese. They make it at the table so you can decide how much jalapenos and garlic you want. Plus you get lots of sauces - we love the green godess and always get extra!

One thing I really like is they allow substitutions of meats on the Big Night Out.

I know some people who hate Melting Pot because they don't like the idea of cooking their own meats and some people think it takes too long so if either of those things bother you then this might not be your place. I've also heard people complaining that it's too expensive but IMO by the time you go to any restaurant and get an app, 2 entrees, and dessert it's going to be about the same price. Plus this is something fun and diferent. The Big Night Out which includes a cheese dish, a salad, the meat tray, and dessert is about $100 for two I believe. I think there's an option where you don't get a lobster tail and it's about $89 maybe?

Service has always been excellent as well.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 
Cincinnati, OH
 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melting Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.