We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The raves are accurate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Dog Cafe

Brown Dog Cafe
5893 Pfeiffer Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45242 (Blue Ash)
(513) 794-1610
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brown Dog Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 1,724 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Blue Ash
Cross street: Pfeiffer and I-71
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The raves are accurate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in the Blue Ash area and decided to try the Brown Dog based on its proximity to our hotel (5 minute drive) and the great reviews on Trip Advisor. It turned out to be a great choice. Although it was a Saturday evening and we had no reservation, we were greeted promptly by the friendly host who led us right to the only empty table in the place. The interior is warm and inviting and very well appointed (belying its understated exterior appearance in a retail strip plaza). Service was attentive, wine list broad enough to satisfy a range of tastes and budgets, the menu is varied and eclectic with everything freshly prepared. Awesome breads. We were too full for dessert but the offerings looked very tempting. Not cheap, but worth the price. Figure $40-50 per person with a glass of wine and dessert.... More if you add appetizers or salads.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    46
    23
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brown dog is top dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Tucked into a strip mall setting, one doesn't expect much when entering. First glance at the menu will raise your expectations as they offer both traditional dishes as well as interesting entrees that you may not have tried before. Then the food arrives and any remaining hesitation is quickly abandoned. Highly recommend the Brown Dog.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A strip mall secret!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This restaurant way outshines its surroundings! What a surprise find. I was visiting from out of town, found this restaurant through TripAdvisor, and gave it a try. With a group of 4 on a Saturday night without a reservation, we were seated in 10 minutes. Our waitress was highly knowledgeable and friendly, and went out of her way to make the party happy. I enjoyed the Mediterranean plate (hummus), the NY strip as my entree, and the chocolate/banana cake. Everything was fresh, cooked to order, and professionally plated. The price tag was reasonable for what I felt was a 5-star dining experience. The fresh baked bread with marinated/roasted garlic cloves was the icing on the proverbial cake! If I am ever in Cincinnati again, I will make it a point to visit the Brown Dog Cafe again. Great experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stambled across this unassuming establishment right next to my hotel in Blue Ash Cincinnati. I had noticed it but was not attracted by the name or location. I tried it tonight and was blown away. These people understand, ambience, atmosphere, service, manors, politeness and most of all, really good food. The menu is different, not just ribs and burgers. Fine quality food with a twist. Check their menu online because I cant do it justice in this review. I will be back for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We've been going to this restaurant for years - it is our all time favorite. The food is prepared very conscientiously, is delicious and not your usual fare for Cincinnati. The wait staff is like family and never steers you wrong if you need recommendations. Highly recommend it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Dog Cafe also viewed

Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Brown Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Dog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.