We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Dog Cafe

Brown Dog Cafe
5893 Pfeiffer Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45242 (Blue Ash)
(513) 794-1610
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brown Dog Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 1,740 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Blue Ash
Cross street: Pfeiffer and I-71
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stambled across this unassuming establishment right next to my hotel in Blue Ash Cincinnati. I had noticed it but was not attracted by the name or location. I tried it tonight and was blown away. These people understand, ambience, atmosphere, service, manors, politeness and most of all, really good food. The menu is different, not just ribs and burgers. Fine quality food with a twist. Check their menu online because I cant do it justice in this review. I will be back for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    28
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We've been going to this restaurant for years - it is our all time favorite. The food is prepared very conscientiously, is delicious and not your usual fare for Cincinnati. The wait staff is like family and never steers you wrong if you need recommendations. Highly recommend it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good as remembered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

it had been awhile since we had dinner here but never for lunch..took our grandson there for his 25th birthday lunch and we all three agreed it was very tasty..and believe me grandson is picky..give him a bowl of rice(white yet!) and he's happy..his italian sandwich looked delish but our salads (chicken citron) and bleu chicken ) were fresh, seasoned perfectly and neither of us generally eat the bread we got seconds on this one . it was valentines day so they were busy although it looked more like business lunches happening and service was slow but to his credit the owner pitched in busing and bringing that good bread to us. we plan to go again for lunch and dinner..it's in a small shopping area but nearby are ursuline academy and the crown plaza hotel ,so if you pass one of them,you've gone to far..it's access. by 71N,exit pfeiffer rd. worth the effort.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great food in an odd location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We visit Cincinnati regularly but this was our first time at Brown Dog Cafe even though - apparently - they've been around for 15 years. The restaurant is located in a small strip mall, just off I-71 in Blue Ash, quite a distance from downtown. From the road, you would almost miss it. The interior of the restaurant, while pleasant, is nothing special. But the food redeems everything! Really superb, creative cuisine. The Hawaiian game fish was excellent, as were all of our main dishes. The desserts were also fantastic.

There's also a terrific wine list with a selection of fine, reasonably priced bottles. Service was friendly and knowledgeable. It may be a hike from downtown Cincinnati, but it's worth the drive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Brown Dog Cafe...Consistently Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I just had dinner with a work group at the Brown Dog Cafe. As is so often the case at the Brown Dog Cafe the service was great and the food was superb. The menu changes frequently, but regularly features a wonderful and diverse offering of wild game (Tonight Venison, Wild Boar, Quail) along with Fresh Fish brought in daily from Hawaii and classics like the NY Strip and also Scallops.

First time visitors might be suprised by its location in a "strip mall" next to a Subway restaraunt. Don't be deterred, the "Brown Dog" is fantastic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Dog Cafe also viewed

Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Brown Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Dog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.