We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Dog Cafe

Brown Dog Cafe
5893 Pfeiffer Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45242 (Blue Ash)
(513) 794-1610
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 1,700 restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Blue Ash
Cross street: Pfeiffer and I-71
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Brown Dog is quite a surprise. Tucked away behind a conference center and stuck in a litle strip mall next to a Subway lies this little gourmet paradise. The ambience is lovely and the menu, intruiging and deliciuos. Foodies, rejoice! Check out their menu online and prepare to be delighted.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    46
    22
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better Than Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I have eaten at the Brown Dog Cafe several times before and it has always been VERY good. But they seem to be getting even better. We were there to celebrate her birthday this past Friday night and the meal was magnificent. They usually say that you should NEVER order the "special of the day" at any restaurant, but that is definitely not true here. The restaurant is small, intimate and the service is second to none. You will like it ... definitely a neighborhood gem.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Sounds better than it really is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had the mediterranean duck wellington (phyllo wrapped duck breast - dried cherry - feta - pine nuts - Israeli cous cous - sun dried tomato - spinach - cranberry port reduction) and the smoked diver scallops (butternut squash risotto - chipotle guave sace - mint chimichurri - arugula salad - crispy onion). Both sounded great, but neither were very good. Both had other flavors (probably too many flavors) that were not listed. For dessert we had the Chocolate Banana Bread (w/ liquid Chocolate center, Coconut Praline, caramelized Bananas, & house made Vanilla Bean Ice Cream) and Creme Brûlé which were pretty good. They do have a nice wine selection.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, OH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent and original”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I hadn't been to the Brown Dog Cafe since 2004 (prior owner) and back then was not overly impressed. On a whim my wife and I decided to try it again. She tends to skim online menus during down time and thought their current menu looked good.

Since that first return we've been back three more times in about six weeks, once with an important customer from Japan. It's just that good. Dishes are original and creative and I'd encourage people to try some of the more exotic sounding combinations. From Halibut specials in citrus reductions to wild boar to the regular seared tuna or baby bleu salad, I have yet to find a dish that didn't please.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“worth going to the burbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

carefully prepared creative food strong on mixes of herbs and spices, beautifully cooked meat and poultry

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Dog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Brown Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Dog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.