We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and original” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Dog Cafe

Brown Dog Cafe
5893 Pfeiffer Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45242 (Blue Ash)
(513) 794-1610
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brown Dog Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 1,731 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Blue Ash
Cross street: Pfeiffer and I-71
West Chester, OH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent and original”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I hadn't been to the Brown Dog Cafe since 2004 (prior owner) and back then was not overly impressed. On a whim my wife and I decided to try it again. She tends to skim online menus during down time and thought their current menu looked good.

Since that first return we've been back three more times in about six weeks, once with an important customer from Japan. It's just that good. Dishes are original and creative and I'd encourage people to try some of the more exotic sounding combinations. From Halibut specials in citrus reductions to wild boar to the regular seared tuna or baby bleu salad, I have yet to find a dish that didn't please.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    25
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“worth going to the burbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

carefully prepared creative food strong on mixes of herbs and spices, beautifully cooked meat and poultry

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food but slow service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The food was pricey but good. When the crowds piled in, it took awhile to get service. I had the steak and crab cake, both which were a little too salty.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Kentucky
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dining elegance in a strip mall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stumbled upon this lil place while looking for something to just grab and eat in the car. We were headed home after a long work week away and just didn't feel like going in to a sit down meal. We drove over to see what the cafe was as it just sounded interesting. There was another couple in the doorway and they had told us that we wouldn't regret it if we came in and had our dinner there! We found after parking that they too were travellers and stopped in everytime they were in the area! The food was absolutely wonderful! We are landing in Cinci this weekend after a UK trip and I am hoping to go to the Brown Dog Cafe for dinner on the way home!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Foodies will love this spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We chose this restaurant for it's Trip Advisor reviews, Open Table reviews, and the proximity to our hotel! Don't be fooled by it's location.....in a strip center next to a Subway! It certainly makes up for it's exterior with it's amazing food. We took our 14 year old son and 12 year old daughter who are not shy about trying new things. The wild game plate included wild boar, venison, and lamb and it was perfection. Our son loved his entire meal. The smoked scallops were also different and great. I had the snapper with a citrus salsa and it was so fresh and perfectly grilled. My husband also had wild boar as his entree and fully enjoyed his meal. I can't imagine living in Cincy and NOT having this restaurant on your rotation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Dog Cafe also viewed

Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Brown Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Dog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.