We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Large Portions, Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Original Pancake House

Original Pancake House
9977 Montgomery Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45242
(513) 745-0555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 1,765 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
London, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Food Large Portions, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Took our crew to Original Pancake House for breakfast before a recent Kings Island Trip. This was our first visit. The restaurant is bright and clean and nicely decorated. We were greeted on the spot and tables were moved together to accommodate our group. The breakfast menu is extensive with lots of specialties, and portions are good sized. Choose from pancakes, waffles, eggs, crepes, and they even have Dutch Baby and Goetta ( a German American breakfast meat known in the Cincinnati area). I had the sourdough pancakes, (had trouble choosing between that and buckwheat) and I couldn't have done any better. They had great flavor and wonderful texture. As much as I Ioved them, there was no way I could finish them. One grandson had strawberry pancakes, served with a mountain of strawberries, powdered sugar and whipped cream and a tasty strawberry syrup that must be made in house.
Prices are reasonable, and our waitress was helpful in making food choices and Johnny-on-the-spot with the coffee.

I noticed many customers with reading material at their tables, and none were rushed away, and some seemed to be regulars. I think they have the prefect little breakfast spot and I envy them that. Such a step up from the chains in my hometown. We'll definitely be back when we're in the area!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    19
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Yeasty batter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Second review. Liked this visit much better. The pancakes have a nice yeasty flavor from the sourdough starter. The Dutch Baby Fruit Bowl was a treat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Can't stop myself from ordering the strawberry crepes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

They have a great variety of breakfast and lunch selections. I believe that breakfast is served all day. A side order of the "loaded" potatoes is a meal by itself. Omelets, pancakes, waffles are all great. The only problem with the Original Pancake House is that now that I've had their strawberry crepes, I never order anything different. I can't ever pass up the opportunity of having their strawberry crepes.
My wife and I never even bother to look at the menu anymore. We recently met friends for brunch. Our friends took a good long time to decide from the selection available. My wife and I both knew what we were having as soon as we agreed on the restaurant, no menu required: strawberry crepes, please.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern US
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The Good: very tasty, lots of choices, unusual dishes, large portions, great service, good value, TRY THE BACON
The Bad: crowded at breakfast, just ok decor, not much health food wise.

We have eaten here 5 times. This is a super little chain with a couple of locations in Cincy. The service here is really excellent. There are lots of great breakfasts and we have yet to have a bad meal. The BACON is awesome . . . Thick slices smoked with a touch of pepper.

It's worth a 20 mile drive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the west
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lined up on a Saturday morning.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We had to wait a bit to get a table but all in all it was worth it. The service was very good. And the food was even better. Our favorites were the pecan waffles and the energizer pancakes with fresh strawberries. Don't forget the whipped cream topping; it's perfect.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.