We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal except one thing.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Chan 2

Johnny Chan 2
11296 Montgomery Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45249-2319
513-489-2388
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #302 of 1,729 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great meal except one thing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I had the pleasure of dining there recently with 2 other relatives. We ordered an appetizer of pot stickers which were excellent. The two others shared orders of mongolian beef and beef fried rice. I ordered one of the house specialties Kung Pao Delight in The Nest. It consisted of chicken,shrimp,beef sauteed with mushrooms,peppers, celery and peanuts in a brown sauce served in a rice nest(or bowl). I expected the sauce to be hot but it was just tangy but good. I spooned it out of the rice nest and put it over the fried rice which I substituted for the steamed rice it came with. I could not wait to break a piece of the rice nest off an eat it but much to my disappointment they hard rice bowl was STALE and thus I did not eat it. With that exception I enjoyed the meal and the rest of my party enjoyed theirs. The service was excellent and the waiter was friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Having eaten here many time, due to convenience, returned last week. Ate an early dinner. They make satisfactory sushi, but their specialty whole fish dinners are always top notch. Carry out is also great with large servings. Wait staff was very attentive ( we ate an early dinner, at times when busy they can be under staffed with slowe service). Very good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This place has an outstanding lunch buffet. It isn't very big with a ton of options, but the options they offer are very good and extremely fresh and very clean and well tended to.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good place for a business lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Lunchtime is a good sized buffet - heavy on chicken and brown sauces but also containing some pork, beef and shrimp. Lots of desserts. Usual assortment of appetizers. Hot temperature, but pretty bland flavors and spices. Not really authentic Chinese but lots of Asians seem to eat here. Very reasonably priced. Fast, courteous (almost obsequeous) service. Hard to leave not feeling full. Quiet enough to have good table conversation. I'm not a big fan of buffets but this one is worth it - plenty of selections with lots of turnover for freshness.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CINCINNATI
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A CONSTINTENT FAMILY ORIENTED CLEAN NEIGHBORHOOD CHINESE- AMERICAN RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This Chinese-American neighborhood restaurant is located in the Shopps of Harpers Point, a very upscale retail strip mall near an affluent section of northern Cincinnati. The restaurant has with stood the test of time, at its location, and a demanding clientele.

It is a well run establishment, with good friendly service, fresh individual food preparation and presentation, and clean wholesome ambience. It offers eat in table service, as well as carry-out service. Even the restrooms are well maintained and clean. There is a limited bar service of domestic and imported beer and wine, and liquor service.

Johnny Chen 2 is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. For lunch, you can order off of the extensive menu (ever item has complete english descriptions), or partake of the buffet, which changes daily.

When diners are finished with their meals, the table is cleared, clean and fresh butcher paper is placed on top of a tablecloth, before place-service is set out.

The restaurant caters to families at dinner, and on holidays and weekends. For lunch many business men are eating here.

The restaurant enjoys lots of repeat busines and regulars, who delight in being seated at their "special table when available.

My wife and I prefer to eat there on Sunday evenings, ordering a hot pot of tea, egg-roll, soup, and shrimp fried frice to accompany our main entree. Most of the time we share, but there is always part of the dinner to take home.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Chan 2 also viewed

 

Been to Johnny Chan 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Chan 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.