We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Aronoff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nicholson's Tavern & Pub

Nicholson's Tavern & Pub
625 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2516 (Central Business District)
+1 513-564-9111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nicholson's Tavern & Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 1,750 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Scottish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th
Description: Located in downtown Cincinnati across from the Aronoff Center, Nicholson’s is a restaurant and bar serving fine food and drink in a genuine Scottish tavern setting. Taking inspiration from the public houses found throughout Great Britain, our goal is to provide our guests with authentic hospitality and a brilliant dining experience. In addition to high-quality food, we offer a wide variety of beer, wine, bourbon, craft cocktails and feature one of the best selections of single malt scotch whiskies in the area.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Convenient to Aronoff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A great place for a quick meal before a performance at the Aronoff. Good food and pleasant service--with respect to your time horizon.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at Nicholson's Tavern & Pub, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks for the review! Glad we were able to provide a great meal before the show! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    59
    21
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stopped in Nicholson's after dinner for some drinks. We each started with a flight of beer which is a great way to sample thier selection. All of the beers are great and something new that you can't find other places. I can't comment on the food but the drinks were good and reasonably priced for craft and imort beer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at Nicholson's Tavern & Pub, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thanks for the review Garrett! Glad you enjoyed your flight and hope you will come back and try some of our dishes! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Three nights in a row.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I was in town for a week and went back three times for dinner. I had the salmon, beef stew and a burger, all were very good. Also very good are the duck fat fries and fried brussels. The beer selection was ok. The employees were all very friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at Nicholson's Tavern & Pub, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for the review and coming 3 nights in a row! Glad you enjoyed our dishes! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“They've got their mojo back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Enjoyed Nicholson's on Burns Night with 3 friends. Avoided Nicholson's (for food - drinks are always great) for several years as they really went downhill - but things have changed. Our waiter was fabulous, he gave suggestions, had us laughing, and made the evening. There were 2 set menus to order from or you could use the regular menu. I ordered salmon/fish pie off one of the set menus. It was very good but I had wrongly assumed the sauce would have been more of a Bernaise than a subtle tomato (though still very creamy). The wedge salad that preceded it was terrific - huge wedge of lettuce, tomatoes, a creamy dill dressing, chunks of bleu cheese - yum! Dessert was an apple cobbler - they were out of the berry (bummer). 2 of our party ordered the lamb and raved about it. Everyone enjoyed the complimentary Scotch tasting and 2 of us liked the haggis fritters (not me but I did try a 1/2 of one...).

We were very glad to be in the back room as the front was quite loud with the bands and all others enjoying Burns Night. The presenting of the haggis was accompanied by a bagpiper and paraded through the entire restaurant so no one missed this very important part of the ritual.

Oh - the decor is always awesome, you can't go wrong with a gigantic wooden bar, plaid and all other Scotchy things...Can't wait to return. Welcome back great food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Public Relations Manager at Nicholson's Tavern & Pub, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Wow! Thanks for the wonderful review and glad you appreciate the hard work from our staff! Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pre-Aronoff Sunday Brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Nicholson was recommended by a friend for brunch prior to a matinee performance at the Aronoff Center. Seemed like a nice place, good atmosphere. Since the place was fairly busy, we decided to go with the brunch buffet rather than order off the menu too save time. Not a good choice.

The food was at best average, the biggest problem was waiting for clean plates and food to be brought out. Noticed three or four plates with food still on them that had been set aside by others at the head of the buffet line. Gentleman behind me had to ask for clean plates. Took three trips to finally be able to try the various items offered, even then the bacon was cold, eggs runny.

Would probably go back to give them a second chance, but will definitely order from the menu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at Nicholson's Tavern & Pub, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank your for bringing this to our attention. I'm sorry that you had a bad experience with our brunch. We'd like to learn more about what happened so we can make any necessary changes to our system or training. If you would be willing to speak with our GM regarding your experience please send your contact information to info@tavernrestaurantgroup.com and our manager will follow up with you at your convenience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicholson's Tavern & Pub also viewed

Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Nicholson's Tavern & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicholson's Tavern & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.