We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't totally live up to expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alfio's buon cibo

Alfio's buon cibo
Erie Avenue, Cincinnati, OH
513-321-0555
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alfio's buon cibo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 1,750 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Erie & Michigan
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Didn't totally live up to expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

After seeing this place on the Best of Cincinnati list in several categories, I was expecting phenomenal food. My husband was really happy with his mussels, but I was a little disappointed with my mahi mahi with risotto, which had so much sauce it was like rice soup. The flavors were great, but it wasn't the perfection I expected based on the hype and the prices. Still high quality food, and I would give it another try!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“I will have dreams....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Had a superior meal with family and there was a lot of moaning and sounds of delight from everyone at the table. Our server Steve was both knowledgable and personable. We tried several dishes! Great ambiance...perfect!!!! I wish I could give them a 6!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Alfio is a culinary genius!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

There are many chefs but few have the talent and heart of Alfio. He is an artist who uses food to create delicious masterpieces. When attending his wine dinners (strongly recommend!!), he takes a flavor note from a wine and invents a dish that emphasizes the flavors perfectly. He has never made anything we don't LOVE! Plus, his passion for food is contagious and he is the nicest guy in town!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting combination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great place on Hyde Park Square. First time I've ever seen an Italian/Argentine dual menu.
Portions were surprisingly large; lamb risotto was very well done, and they had a pretty nice wine selection as well. We'll be back now that we're close by!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First time...not the last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Visiting our son in Cincinnati. He heard great things about Alfios. They were right! He ordered the butternut squash soup which was so good, very thick. The grilled romaine had a great flavored dressing, just a little too much of it. I had the pistachio crusted salmon on top of butternut squash. Very tasty. Took some home. Tasted the chicken risotto and the shrimp and scallop entrees. Everyone loved what they ordered. Katrina, our waitress was very nice too. Vibrant atmosphere, every table filled!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfio's buon cibo also viewed

Cincinnati, OH
 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Alfio's buon cibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfio's buon cibo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.