We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visual Feast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added 21c Museum Hotel to your Saves list
21c Museum Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Complimentary Upgrade
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Visual Feast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a wonderful chic boutique hotel in the heart of the city with spectacular works of modern art in a gallery on the first and second floors that is open to the public. The staff was helpful and very friendly. I look forward to being able to stay in another 21c Museum Hotel in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabe I, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
You were very kind to share your thoughts about your recent experience here; thank you so much! Our goal is to provide exactly the experience you described and we are especially happy that you enjoyed the art and our friendly service. We look forward to welcoming you again should your travels bring you back to Cincinnati, or to Louisville, Bentonville, or Durham (coming in 2015!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    58
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
45
165
10
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel is placed at an attractive location downtown. Great rooms and each room has some interesting piece of art. The hotel also has an interesting bath tile arrangement with anatomical shape tile in the shower cube.

The restaurant below has great selection for breakfast and dinner and the staff is very courteous. If you are staying for a long duration mention that you would prefer a more spacious room


During weekend, there can be noise from the nearby clubs. But if noise is a big issue for you then you should rather stay somewhere 20 miles from downtown.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear kar2ram,
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at 21c. We are so glad that you enjoyed the property, from our location, to Metropole, the hotel and our team. We look forward to seeing you again, soon, here in Cincinnati.
Thank you.
All the best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I've been to Cincinnati several times for business over the last 10 years, and it's a pain to get there from California, and typically very uninspiring once I'm there. HOWEVER, that has changed with the new revitalized parts of the downtown area and 21C. It's as hip and cool and interesting as they come. The service from the minute you walk in was impeccable. Art is everywhere, albeit, funky/debateably good art, but interesting to ponder on no matter your tastes. The rooms are super clean, room service is delicious coming from their renowned restaurant, and art surprises you in the most unexpected places(i.e. sneaky bathroom tiles). It's in an ideal location in the heart of downtown and don't forget to go to the rooftop for a drink and a snack. Great scene, and amazing view. The yellow penguin thing, I don't totally get, but it's different and makes you smile. This is my go to hotel whenever I go back.

Room Tip: I was in room 501 and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Courtney G,
We are thrilled to learn that we are your go to hotel in Cincinnati. This is wonderful news. It is great to know that you enjoyed the property from Cocktail Terrace on the rooftop to the art and the team throughout the property. We look forward to your return to Cincinnati and to providing you with another memorable experience.
Thank you.
All the Best!

Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I liked this hotel. Right in the middle of the city. It is like a gallery of contemporary art. The rooms are very nice and practical. The staff is very friendly. I had just a small issue as I had to wait a lot to get my room in the morning. The aircon in the room was quite noisy too.

Room Tip: i was on the 10th floor and the aircon was very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear paolo0211,
Thank you, so very much, for sharing your recent experience at 21c. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the art, our location, the rooms, and especially our team and their service. These are all very important to us. We look forward to your return to 21c, be it in Cincinnati, Louisville, Bentonville and coming soon to Durham and Oklahoma City.
Thank you.
All the Best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Absolutely one of the most enjoyable spa experiences we've had. The receptionist was incredibly personable and our therapists were wonderful. The couples room is equipped with a beautiful sky lit shower and a large tub complete with a rubber ducky. Wonderful massage tables the adjust and tilt as needed. The giant yellow penguins just topped off the atmosphere!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear mrush16848,
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at The Spa at 21c. We are thrilled to learn that you had such a marvelous and relaxing time with us. We look forward to your return and to the opportunity to provide more wonderful treatments.
Thank you.
All the Best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I chose the 21C initially for two reasons: Its proximity to the Newport Aquarium, and the yellow penguins! Fortunately for me, the hotel turned out to be very unique and very excellent. I enjoyed all facets of it - the bar had a great drink selection and reasonable prices, the food was excellent, and I loved the roof top lounge. I will stay here again sometime for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Gary W.,
We appreciate you taking time to write and share your recent experience at 21c. We are delighted that you enjoyed the yellow penguins and our location in downtown, It is wonderful to know that you were able to experience the property, from rooftop to galleries. We look forward to your return to 21c and to Cincinnati. See you soon.
Once again, thank you.
All the Best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

only stayed in the hotel for 2 nights with work, but i was an absolute joy from start to finish, from the moment the you walk through the front doors you are hit with modern meets vintage vibes. upon check in you are dealt with swiftly but without having any information left out. i was in a standard double room, and i really was astonished by the quality of the room, overly spacious and immaculately clean! the hotel workers and the valet's out front were so knowledgeable and forthcoming to help you. i can not comment on the food as i did not eat. i will go back and visit this city, but this time i'm going on vacation!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear james151019911,
Thank you for taking time to write and share your recent experience at 21c. It was certainly our pleasure to have you with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the property, the art, and the team. We look forward to your next trip to Cincinnati, whether it is for business or vacation.
Once again, thank you.
All the Best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 21c Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel

Address: 609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#8 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Lois and Richard Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art and across the street from the Aronoff Center for the Arts, 21c Cincinnati works to foster the ongoing revival of Downtown Cincinnati and strengthen its role as a cultural destination.Working with the Cincinnati Center City Development Corporation (3CDC), 21c renovated the former Metropole Hotel and embraced the architecture of the historic landmark to create an exciting new space for guests to experience genuine hospitality, view cutting edge contemporary art, and enjoy culinary experiences that celebrates the region's sustainable producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.