We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Service, Clean and Bright Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 21c Museum Hotel to your Saves list
21c Museum Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Complimentary Upgrade
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Service, Clean and Bright Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at 21c Museum Hotel in Cincinnati after "discovering" the Louisville Hotel last year, wishing we'd stayed there. It did not disappoint.

Rooms were clean and bright. The front desk staff, the valets and the restaurant staff (in the morning for breakfast) were all personable and friendly.

When I couldn't figure out how to turn off the glowing light behind the bed, I called downstairs, the speaker immediately answered, and was able to respond to my inquiry in lightening speed.

The products (Malin + Goetz) were lovely as well - scented lightly in peppermint, rum and cilantro (not in those horridly heavy masculine or floral scents that give headaches that you find at many major hotel chains).

We would certainly stay here again, and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear tempscreenname,
We are delighted that you were able to discover us in Cincinnati on your travels. That you enjoyed the hotel, the service and the overall property is so good to know. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to your return to Cincinnati or Louisville and hope that you will soon have the opportunity to discover us in Bentonville. (Durham and Lexington are coming soon and we would love to see you there, too.)
Thank you,
All the Best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    66
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
185
11
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I watched hotwire for several weeks and figured out that this was the hotel that we were going to get. Sure enough, for $128 a night we got a room! It was very easy to find. We did not do the $30 per night valet as that was just way overpriced. We did find a garage around the corner with a 3 minute walk back to the hotel for just $5 per day. Every time we came in and out of the hotel, the staff rushed to open the doors! The service was great! The art was interesting... not necessarily our cup of tea. It was "interesting." The main reason we stayed here was because of the penguins. I was sad Friday night when I didn't see them anywhere. Then, on Saturday morning he was in our elevator! It made my day :) The room was very comfy and nice, but I could never see paying more than $128 per night. We definitely had a "hotwire" rate room because the view was terrible. But, at least we got to stay in a nice hotel and not the $50 type! The bed was amazing! The shampoo made me gag because I despise peppermint but I know everyone else would have loved it. The cute rubber ducky in the shower was a nice touch! I believe the price of the hotel is directly related to the location, which is great. We wanted to walk everywhere, including to the baseball game, and we were able to do that with ease. I do suggest carrying mace with you because there were so many people trying to hustle you out of money. Other reviews I read talked about construction but we didn't hear any. All in all, the hotel was very nice, but I don't think we will be back because of the price. However, I suggest that you should stay here to experience the interesting things that it has to offer!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Miranda3928,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at 21c with us. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy an encounter with a penguin during your time with us. You never know where you may find a penguin when you are with us. We are glad that the service was great and met your expectations. We appreciate that you were able to tour the galleries and found the art to be interesting. We look forward to seeing you back at 21c soon.
Thank you.
All the Best!

Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel is in the heart of the downtown cincy. Walking distance to all sports arena. Staff were very courteous, it was really funny the door bell guys were on their toes and there was a competition among themselves to open the door (**smile**). Very nice people.

Inside the room, everything was very clean and tidy. Definitely will stay next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear AjayashreeG,
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at 21c. Your feedback is very important to us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It is good to know that we were in a good location for you, and it is even better to know that you encountered wonderful service.
We look forward to your return to Cincinnati and to 21c.
Thank you,
All the Best!

Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had heard great things about the 21c. We live in Cincinnati and thought this would be a really wonderful place to spend the night and celebrate our anniversary. It certainly met our expectations. It is a very unique place. The museum was delightful. We had a lovely breakfast in the dining room. There are a number of fun, funky things throughout the hotel. The employees are mostly young, well trained and upbeat. Our room was bright and comfortable. Although not inexpensive, it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear kent f,
It is so good to learn that you had a wonderful anniversary experience at 21c. Congratulations on the anniversary! We are delighted that you enjoyed the fun and the funky, and that you found the team upbeat. We look forward to seeing you here again, soon.
Thank you, once again, for sharing your experience.
All the Best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the hotel this past weekend (4/4-6/14) and were pleasantly surprised with the entire experience. To a person, the staff were friendly, hospitable and accommodating in a genuine, but not stuffy, formal way.

The unique thing about the hotel is the traveling exhibits of contemporary art. The yellow 4.5' penguins are an interesting novelty. One even joined us for dinner!

The room was very comfortable, clean, minimalist, but had all the standard amenities plus hook-ups for every electronic advise one might need. Most appreciated were the pillows (firm), bed (firm) and room darkening blinds. The one negative might be the loud noise from the street Saturday evening.

Katherine and Chris at the cocktail lounge were friendly and interested in talking about and explaining the various "artisan" cocktails on their cocktail menu.

We ate dinner there once and breakfast twice. The food was delicious, original and reasonably priced for the quality. Wendell, our breakfast server, was very accommodating, providing us with printed pages about Mariemont.

It was a great experience, we'd go back again and would be happy to recommend it.

Mike

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room away for the Aronoff Center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Acanthus789,
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at 21c. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the art and the team. It is wonderful to know that we were able to make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to your return to 21c, whether that is in Cincinnati, Bentonville or Louisville.
Once again, thank you.
All the Best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in late March. I had heard and read nice things about this location and hotel, so we were excited to give it a try. The staff was very friendly, but that's where it ended. The room (suite) was extremely expensive (higher than a Ritz Carlton), yet offered sparse uncomfortable furnishings and decor that looked cheap and not particularly clean (spots and stains on the carpet, etc.). Even the decor in the bathroom wasn't appealing - looked almost prison like with super bright fluorescent lighting and extremely basic features. Don't know if all the rooms are furnished this way, but this was a disappointment. There was some construction project going on across near the hotel that was extremely noisy and never stopped all night long. I really think they should let you know when you book that construction is going on - we would have chosen elsewhere. The website calls this a luxury hotel and perhaps the other locations are a little more high end - but this one is off the list.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Anne C,
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at 21c. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and that you did not enjoy your stay with us. This is certainly not how we want you to remember your visit. We always appreciate a second opportunity, so should your travels bring you back to Cincinnati I hope that you would contact me directly to assist with your reservation. Your feedback is important to us, thank you for sharing.
We look forward to your return.
All the Best!
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had originally booked the Residence Inn and inadvertantly put the wrong date in our reservation. Since the Residence Inn was totally booked, 21c was not only able to accomadate us, but they gave us the same rate we had at the Residence Inn. In addition, they gave us and upgraded room. It was so comfy, stylish and clean. Plus they had these really awesome toiletries. They smelled of peppermint, cilantro etc. And they are an art museum and a hotel, which is really neat! Staff was amazing too!!! I highly recommend you stay here! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Bella849,
We are so happy that we were able to accommodate when things went awry and that you were pleased with the room and amenities. Our museum is designed to "wow" you and our staff aims to amaze you and it's great to hear that we hit the mark for you. Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience and for recommending us. We hope to see you on your next visit to Cincinnati!
All the best,
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 21c Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel

Address: 609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Lois and Richard Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art and across the street from the Aronoff Center for the Arts, 21c Cincinnati works to foster the ongoing revival of Downtown Cincinnati and strengthen its role as a cultural destination.Working with the Cincinnati Center City Development Corporation (3CDC), 21c renovated the former Metropole Hotel and embraced the architecture of the historic landmark to create an exciting new space for guests to experience genuine hospitality, view cutting edge contemporary art, and enjoy culinary experiences that celebrates the region's sustainable producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21c Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.